Popcorn

Popcorn Kernel

This morning while in a meeting I got a call from Felesha, our babysitter. I could hear Sophie crying in the background and Felesha, in a very panicked voice, tell me that Sophie put a popcorn kernel up her nose and that they couldn’t get it out.

ARGH!

I called the pediatrician’s office and talked with a nurse. She said to definitely bring her in and if they can’t get it they’ll send us to an Ear/Nose/Throat doc. I rushed home and picked upĀ  Felesha and Sophie. On the short drive to the doctor’s office Sophie cried “Owie! Owie!” I felt so bad for her.

And you know that a child is in pain when they want to rush into the exam room for the doctor to check them out.

The doc had her lay down on the exam table. I had to hold her hands down. And we could immediately see the popcorn kernel in her nose. He got his handy-dandy tool (I’m sure Joe knows the technical term for it) and removed the popcorn. YAY! He checked both nostrils just to make sure we were all clear.

Has Sophie learned her lesson? Have any of my kids? We will add the popcorn kernel to the list of beads, mini M&Ms and rocks that my children have stuffed up their noses.

BTW, there is a disturbing number of pictures on Google images of popcorn in the nose.

1 Response to “Popcorn”


  1. 1 Nann February 2, 2011 at 5:30 pm

    Poor Sophie. I am glad they could get it out fairly easily. Those orifices are just too tempting.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

