4-Year-Old Love

Two posts in a day seems wrong but I couldn’t resist! (I couldn’t figure out the date thingy at first so my first two posts were actually done on the previous date.) I was reading past posts on my favorite blog (evidently.org – love you Wende!!!) and was really struck by her post on 18 Jan 07. It was sweet and special and reminded me of this…

The month or so before Christmas GB1 was mesmerized by all those commercials enticing children to bug their parents and Santa about toys. All the commercials for boy toys were followed by GB1 saying that he wanted it for Christmas.

Somewhere down the line I think he realized he was being selfish. Or he just really wanted to share the spirit with me. We were watching live TV (I love my Dish DVR and rarely watch live TV because I’m too impatient to watch commercials). A commercial came on and GB1 tells me that he really wants to get this item for me.

 

Metamucil.

 

 

Wow.

I sat wondering: “Do I have a ‘strained’ look about me? Am I irregular? Am I in need of more fiber???”

And the realization hit me that, no, it’s not any of those things. It’s just a 4-year-old boy trying to make his mom happy. He had no idea what Metamucil was, he just saw a 30-ish woman smiling happily in the commercial.

If he wants to buy me Metamucil, I’ll take it. However, I’m not so hip on the Bedazzler he also wanted to get me.

2 Responses to “4-Year-Old Love”


  1. 1 Wende February 14, 2007 at 10:44 pm

    What? How could you not want a BeDazzler?? Do you know what you can do with those things?? 😀 Heh.

    Thank you for the lovely mention. Have you told Paula and Monica that you are blogging? I’m sure they would be over here in a jiffy leaving comments if they knew! 😀

    ~~~~
    Please don’t tell me you have a bedazzler! I might have to rethink my love of you and your blog. Hee hee hee. 😉
    -K

  2. 2 Wende February 15, 2007 at 8:25 pm

    No I don’t have one, but when my kiddo was little he was always trying to get me to buy one off the TV. 😀

    And your love is fickle. Hee…

    ~~~
    What is it about little boys and bedazzlers? hmmm…
    -K


Leave a Reply

