Sing, Sing a Song

I have many weirdities. Singing is one of them. I just had to write about it today. Probably because I went to the store with my kids today and I was singing along with easy listening mumbo jumbo playing over the PA system. And then GB1 tells me “Stop singing Mom!” That’s a phrase I hear quite often from him. Makes me wonder if it is the singing or the voice that he really objects to. Hmmm… I seem to be constantly singing or listening to music (I don’t like the quiet… I need background noise).

I just love music. I play the piano. In Jr. High I played the clarinet. And I’m always singing. I’m not a fabulous singer. Never claimed to be. I just sing to my kids and husband mostly. And sing with the radio. But I don’t sing in the shower—somehow I’m really self conscious about singing in the shower. Maybe it’s just singing naked?

I’d like to blame my constant singing on my family. (That’s blame in a good way.) In my memories my parents were always singing. My dad would bust out some old barbershop song. It’s pretty funny how he can start singing a song that fits the situation. And I do the same thing!

Maybe that’s why it bugs GB1 so much. He says something and I start singing him some silly song. But what really bugs him is if I sing along with the TV or movies. I just LOVE singing along with the Disney animated musicals. And then it starts.

“Mom! Stop singing!”

“Stop it!”

“MOM!!!”

It’s terrible, but the more he complains, the more and louder I sing. Why do I torment him so?

Maybe my motto should be “Don’t worry that it’s not good enough for anyone else to hear just sing, sing a song” (by Joe Raposo).

5 Responses to “Sing, Sing a Song”


  1. 1 Dena February 27, 2007 at 7:05 pm

    I so relate to this. I think it comes from Dad. He was here for a few days singing to my grandkids. So much fun to see him singing “Baby Face” to Raegan and Baylee.

    Like you I love to sing, but I just can’t sing in the shower, weird I know. I used to sing GB1 to sleep, that may be part of his aversion to singing, it probably brings back bad memories from those days. Although I’m sure you’re much better than I am.
    ~~~~
    It threw me for a sec when you typed “my grandkids.” Sometimes I forget that you are a grandma. 🙂

    GB1 does it too. I didn’t realize it until last night. He heard the word dog and next thing I know he’s singing “Hot dog hot dog hot diggity dog!” from the Mickey Mouse Club House. And GB2 started singing too. All he knew was “Dog” so he kept singing that. I think it’s so funny!

    La la la la la!
    -K

  2. 2 Nanno February 28, 2007 at 7:44 am

    Think what we would have missed. I remember Dad and Hal singing barbershop to Hal’s kids at the park in Sandy a few years ago. (Before Dennis moved to Florida.) Hal’s grandkids had never really heard him sing and sat in amazement as did Tonya. (I have a picture to prove it!)

    You may not really remember those long car trips before tape decks and radio stations coast to coast, but we SANG! Camp songs, nursery rhymes, the alphabet song, church songs, and even made up songs. The “Twist” reminds me of living in San Francisco that year. Who can forget Dad singing the Yellow Polka Dot Bikini. I still have vivid memories of watching Dad practicing with the barbershop when I was only four.

    I don’t sing in the shower either, but some of the men in the family DO sing in the bathroom.
    ~~~~
    Are you referring to Smokey the Bear? 😀

    I don’t remember the car trips pre tape decks. But I do remember sitting in the truck singing along with Conway Twitty and Loretta Lynn and Jim Reeves.
    -K

  3. 3 Elyssa February 28, 2007 at 9:09 am

    I do sing in the shower…as loud as I can. I sing in the car, I sing at school, at work, at the store, at church, at the movie theater…anywhere and everywhere. What’s great is that Manny will sing with me. One funny thing though, when I want him to sing to me, the song that he ALWAYS sings is: “Sing, sing a song, sing out loud, make it proud.” I think that’s how the words go, anyway, he sings that all the time and I HATE that song. I love to whistle too, if I’m not singing, then I’m whistling.
    ~~~~
    That’s funny! I can picture Manny singing that too you, especially if you hate that song. 😀
    -K

  4. 4 Nanno February 28, 2007 at 2:43 pm

    AND Phantom of the Opera. Just ask Sandy…

  5. 5 Sandy March 1, 2007 at 11:18 pm

    I don’t know what it is and singing on the toliet.. gross!! Weird thing is Adam will call me and suddenly I will hear the toliet flush… (don’t ever use his cell phone. GROSS!)

    My favorite is hearing my dad or grandpa singing the wrong words to a song. “why do birds suddenly appear… over there… over here?” hehe..
    ~~~~
    Maybe it’s part of CRS syndrome? 🙂 I do it too, but I insert “blah blahs” where I can’t remember words.
    -K


Leave a Reply

