Spring Bag

I couldn’t sleep again last night. So as I laid in bed I planned out a bag to make with the fabric and notions I bought at the thrift store earlier this week. I got all the pieces cut out before dropping GB1 off at preschool. The body of the bag, the lining, the two interior pockets, the one exterior pocket, and the long strap (so I can sling over my left shoulder and the bag will rest on my right hip).

28-feb-2007-1.JPG

Here’s a picture of what I saw while I sewed. I took this through the arm of my machine. It’s GB2 coloring. (Yes, I know he still has his pacifier. I tried but it’s been a hard struggle for me to get him off the pacifier. We did so-so till his little cousin on the M side of the family came to visit. His little cousin has a pacifier so GB2 would try to sneak it if his cousin didn’t have it in his mouth.)

28-feb-2007-2.JPG

And here is the finished bag. I tried to cut things out so the big flowers were prominent. It was pretty easy except for the snap. I put a snap on the inside so I can keep it shut. I reinforced the area with some duck cloth and then I totally messed up the snaps. Those suckers are hard to dismantle and pull out. But I did it. I still need to sew in a small snap on one of the interior pockets. But basically I would say that this is done!

 

28-feb-2007-3.JPG

 

Non-sewing news: I just had to include some of GB2’s new words. He is learning more and more new words and it is so cute to hear his high pitched little voice. His words are: jelly bean, money, movie, dog, and fish. It’s so darn cute!

6 Responses to “Spring Bag”


  1. 1 Randi February 28, 2007 at 9:01 pm

    You bag is adorable! So is your little helper! 😉
    ~~~~
    Oh thanks! 😀
    -K

  2. 2 HG March 1, 2007 at 7:19 pm

    Love the bag!
    ~~~~
    Thanks! Me too! 😀 Now I’m just waiting for warmer weather so I can use it!
    -K

  3. 3 beki March 2, 2007 at 12:34 pm

    How cute! You did a great job on that 😉
    ~~~~
    Thanks! I’m so feeling the love!
    -K

  4. 4 Pieces March 4, 2007 at 10:07 am

    Great bag! I love the view while you are sewing too! Girlkiddo loved her pacifiers too. Sometimes she would walk around with two in her mouth and a few stuck between her fingers. Maybe I’ll try to find a picture of it to post…
    ~~~~
    Thanks! Yes, if he finds both of his pacifiers he’ll switch off. But he tends to like the one with the most spit on it, or something. The one that is cleanest isn’t as favored. EW!
    -K

  5. 5 Blissy March 5, 2007 at 2:45 pm

    Love the bag! And what a fun blog! I’m jealous, it sounds like you have so many fun hobbies that you actually have time to do. The boys are cute, but they need to stop growing so fast!
    ~~~~
    I’m just trying to keep busy…better than watching the boob tube all day, right? They are growing fast. But they are pretty fun.
    -K

  6. 6 Amy March 21, 2007 at 8:29 am

    Cute bag, I love the fabric! I think I need a new spring bag 😀
    ~~~~
    Oh thanks! It’s already getting dirty–that’s the problem with white. So I’m thinking of making something else. 😉 Maybe I’ll follow a pattern this time. 😀
    -K


Leave a Reply

