A Good Weekend

We had such beautiful weather over the weekend. Saturday we did some errands then came home and washed the truck. The boys had a blast! Goofball #1 just wanted to play with the hose but we didn’t want him wasting the water—wasn’t too happy about that, though. Goofball #2 kept playing in the bucket of sudsy water. He was soaked top to bottom! Joe washed the body of the truck and I spent my time detailing the rims (which were so gross). When the outside was done I worked my magic inside and Joe took care of the windows. We’re such a good team! We didn’t get it vacuumed since we should have done that way before we got the water going. But it is still so nice! It’s always good to get the winter grime off. But we’re supposed to get rain starting Thursday. Oh well.

Sunday was a good weather day too. In the afternoon the boys spent time playing in the backyard while Joe and I sat on the deck. It felt so good to have the warm sun on my face. The downside, as always, was the instant freckling of my face. I need to find some moisturizer with stronger SPF or something! (Lately I’m worried so much about aging skin! I’ve got crows feet and I’m only 31. AAHHH! And I’ve liked being a redhead but I’ve had a life full of freckles so I know my skin is going to be not so lovely the older I get. SHEESH!)

The downside of my weekend was Goofball #1’s constant talk about going to McDonalds. ENOUGH ALREADY! It all started Thursday at story time. After the stories they sat down to color their picture and the boy next to him had a toy that GB1 was so digging. Then the boy said that he got it at McDonalds. Grrrr… So I’ve been bargaining with him. If he’s a good boy all weekend and Monday, then on Tuesday we’ll go to McDs for lunch. He’s still trying to grasp how many days of being good that was. But so far so good. I’m not saying he’s been a perfect little guy all weekend, but I think he’s been good enough.

And to top it all off we’ve decided to re-texturize our walls. The texture on the walls is horrible. Paining it is no fun. When we did the boys’ rooms it was such a pain. Covering Goofball #2’s purple walls took some effort. Where the texture was deep I had to take a paint brush and stipple the paint in to cover up the purple. So we want to put new texture on our walls. We’re going to start in the hall and perfect our technique before we get to the family room, dining room, and kitchen. And it just so happens that our friends and neighbors have done it and are willing to help us out if we want. That might make it easier so I don’t have to try and help Joe while also corralling the boys. I’ll keep you posted…

Now if only Rob and Amber would be eliminated from the Amazing Race. J

3 Responses to “A Good Weekend”


  1. 1 Nanno March 5, 2007 at 5:25 pm

    I agree with booting Rob and Amber, however I voted for the cousins on the family site. Not too surprised by Kentucky.

    I am so anxious for good weather and opening the windows for fresh air. Maybe by Easter?
    ~~~~
    It’s been nice to open the windows. I hope it is good for you for Easter so the egg hunt with the nieces and nephews won’t have to be indoors.
    -Kathy

  2. 2 mindyme March 5, 2007 at 6:07 pm

    Kathy….love your blog. Hate Rob and Amber, but I think that they will win for sure this time. Thinking of boycotting it if they do. The boys are adorable! We hit 50+ degrees today, so there is hope.
    ~~~~
    Rob & Amber BAD!!! But yeah, they are so scheming that they’ll probably win. Thanks for stopping by! Hope it warms up there, 🙂
    -Kathy

  3. 3 Wende March 6, 2007 at 11:02 am

    I don’t know what you’re talking about… I adore Rob and Amber. They crack me up!

    And it sounds like a fun weekend. Here’s to McD’s today! 😀
    ~~~~
    NO!! Rob & Amber bad!!! 😉
    Yay McDs. (trying to put some enthusiasm in that)
    -K


Leave a Reply

