Tired

I’M FETCHING TIRED! Last night, as I sat on GB2’s floor trying to sneak out of his room without waking him, I realized that I haven’t slept through the night in more than two years. AND I’M FETCHING TIRED OF IT! (Fetching. It’s a Utah word.)

 

Let me give you the example of how my night was last night. The boys were in bed by 9. I didn’t go to bed till 11. GB2 woke me up at 1:30. I took him back to his bed. I was pretty tired so I squished in his bed with him and fell asleep for about an hour. But I then spent the next 2 1/2 hours awake trying to sneak out of his room without waking him. Finally I went back to my bed around 5 and fell asleep. After Joe went to work, which I’m sure he gave me a kiss good-bye but I was so DANG tired that I can neither confirm nor deny if he did, GB2 woke up and came into my room. I put him in my bed and rolled over to Joe’s side of the bed and slept until 9 when GB1 woke me.

 

I know GB2 does not have good sleep habits. He was not quite two-months-old when we sold our house in Utah and moved to Bend, OR. In Bend we rented a two-bedroom apartment. We put the boys together in one room. MISTAKE. GB2 would wake up every two hours (this happened until he was 9 months—then it switched to ever three to four hours). I had baby monitor in the room and would hurry up in there when he would wake. If I didn’t he would wake up GB1. GB1 would yell “BE QUIET BABY!” (Yes, we don’t say “shut up” in our family so he yelled “be quiet.”) We told GB1 to not yell at GB2 so that resulted in GB1 crying instead. Enough was enough and Joe and I moved GB2 into our room. Where I would wake up with him quickly so he wouldn’t wake Joe up. GB2 has his own room now, but he has never learned to fall back asleep on his own and now I’m paying for it.

 

As if I don’t have big enough sleep issues of my own (went to a neurologist for an overnight sleep study back in ’04 and was diagnosed with insomnia, mild sleep apnea, and periodic limb movement disorder), I have to deal with this. It’s exhausting. Really. I don’t know what I would have done if I would have gone back to work after he was born. I’d be a walking zombie or something.

 

I’ve come to the realization that this may be why I drink so much Coke. Caffeine. So I can somewhat function.

 

I’m tired.

3 Responses to “Tired”


  1. 1 Wende March 14, 2007 at 2:22 pm

    Oof, this time change just bugs me for this reason. It really messes with a kid’s ability to sleep.

    You don’t want to hear this, but that caffeine you’re loving probably isn’t helping your sleep issues. Did I say that? Feel free to ignore me!
    ~~~~
    Maybe that’s why it is a love/hate relationship for me. Love it but I know it’s not good for me. But I try not to drink it after 2 in the afternoon. But that’s not always the case. Oh well… 😉
    -K

  2. 2 Robyn March 14, 2007 at 6:39 pm

    I can so relate. I can probably count on one hand the amount of nights I have slept all the way through with no interruption from the kids. I keep saying that once their older, it will get easier. But what if we have more kids? I might not want any for this reason.
    Just hang in there. It’ll get better.
    Oh, and I was glad Rob and Amber went bye bye, too. Really didn’t like them all that much.
    ~~~~
    I know what you are saying…I LOVE my kids but two is enough for me. Especially now with my lack of sleep. And I’m always excited to find another Amazing Race fan!!!
    -K

  3. 3 Benjamin November 7, 2007 at 7:34 pm

    Hello my name is Benjamin. I was diagnosed with severe sleep apnea. I have been battling with my insurance company and they are not going to help me get a bipap machine because it is a pre-existing condition. I am trying to get one used online. I set up a website to try to tell my story and hopefully make enough from the ads to purchase a bipap machine. The last sleep study I went to told me that if I did not get a machine, I was headed for a heart attack in 5 years. I am 36. I appreciate anyone who makes the effort to spread the word. I would like to try to set up a way for the uninsured to get cpap and bipap machines without insurance. Thanks Very Much


Leave a Reply

