A Bit of Sewing

I saw this way cute doll quilt on Vicki’s blog and it got me to thinking… My Goofball #2 has been carrying around his bear in a much folded up receiving blanket which gets bulky and the bear falls out and all sorts of stuff. I had an internal debate about making a doll quilt for a boy. And if I do it for one boy I have to do it for both boys. (Thanks to Michelle of Green Kitchen for her thoughts on it) So I did it. Not a cutsie pieced one—I thought Joe might think of that as being too girly. I pulled out some fabric that I used last year to make PJs for the boys. (I seem to have an issue with buying too much fabric for PJs.) I didn’t have any leftover batting so I used some flannel as batting, heck, it doesn’t need to be super soft and comfy. I just sandwiched the flannel between to pieces of the fabric RST and sewed around. I turned it, did a zig-zag top-stitch then straight stitched some concentric rectangles and Voila! The boys LOVE them! GB1’s is Star Wars and GB2’s is dinosaurs. I was constantly re-wrapping the bear and pony so I ended up using a safety pin to secure the blankets. I’m happy to say that Joe didn’t seem bothered by the boys having doll blankets. Because really, they aren’t for dolls, they are for one bear and one pony.

 

16-march-2007-1.JPG

 

I also but together a blanket top yesterday. My sister Nann sent me these pre-cut 5” Moda squares. So soft and pretty. I put it together yesterday. It’s going to go with me in a few months to Utah and I’ll have my mom help me tie it into a cute little baby blanket.

 

16-march-2007-2.JPG

 

And then I had read in the paper of a lady selling fabric for $1 yard. I had to check it out. The lady said that her eye sight is so poor now that she can’t sew any more. I felt terribly for her! She was mostly selling off knits and poly-icky-ester. I did grab three pieces of fabric, though.

 

 16-march-2007-3.JPG

 

The two floral prints were just about the only cotton fabrics she was selling. I thought they would make awesome bags or lining for bags. The yellow/green piece has three yards, the white with blue/red flowers has two yards. (Joe said “What are you going to do with it? More bags? What are you going to do with the bags?” Does he not realize that a girl can never have too many bags or shoes? So maybe I’ll send them to my sisters and/or nieces.) And then I picked up a piece of poly-icky-ester. I just L-O-V-E-D the print. It’s kind of a Mexican looking print. I brought it home thinking “What the junk am I going to do with that?” And then I thought it would make a kickin’ skirt. And I have a pattern so… The only probably is that I would have to wear a slip and I don’t know that I have a half slip that will be long enough to go with it. Hmmm… Oh, and I also got these craft magazines for free. Most of them look older than me but I thought I might find something cool in them. I was pretty happy with my finds.

4 Responses to “A Bit of Sewing”


  1. 1 Michelle March 16, 2007 at 1:31 pm

    Yay for boy blankies! My son is hooked now. Everytime I’m in a fabric store he’s picking out fabric for new clothes for his dog. Yesterday he wanted to make sure we got something green so his dog doesn’t get pinched on St. Patrick’s day. 🙂
    ~~~~
    Your son sounds so AWESOME! Nothing like having someone precious like that urging you to buy fabric and make cool stuff. ROCK ON!!
    -K

  2. 2 Nanno March 16, 2007 at 1:56 pm

    The boys “wraps” look great and you can’t beat the smiles on their faces! I can hardly wait to see them (the boys).

    The baby blanket looks great and I am sure will be a great item to have on hand. Hopefully there is enough for a back and binding. (Can’t remember what I bought???)

    I like your fabrics. And you are right, can’t have too many bags! (Sorry, I don’t have the shoe collecting bug as severely as our sister.)
    ~~~~
    You sent some fabric for back and binding. I’m sure it’s enough. (I admit that I don’t know how to figure out how much for the binding. The back I can figure out, though.) THANKS AGAIN!!! And Imelda Tracy always wins the “who has more shoes” game so I don’t even play any more.
    -K

  3. 3 jmarz March 16, 2007 at 9:35 pm

    I did ask Kathy what she was going to do with all the fabric. Then I thought, “What am I going to do with all the rabbit fur, elk hair, deer hair, chicken feathers, turkey feathers, duck feathers, dubbing, rubber legs, mylar tinsel, thread, hooks, beads, flashabou, gold wire, silver wire, and all the others fly tying material that I have?” Tie flies of course. A fly fisherman can never have enough flies.
    ~~~~
    And a somewhat crafty girl can never have enough sewing supplies!
    -K

  4. 4 Wende March 19, 2007 at 7:29 pm

    Oh, that fabric is really cool! I know what I’d be doing with it. 😀


Leave a Reply

