It Continues…

I thought the saga of the truck was over, but I was wrong.

Joe’s gout is acting up really badly—so bad that he can’t even walk. He stayed home from work today and I took him to the doctor’s office. (Yeah, we are insurance-less for about another month. But I’d much rather pay for a visit to the doctor than have him miss work for the rest of the week. Plus, he needed some pain meds so he can try to sleep.) I was feeling like the mom of three by carrying coats and opening doors and doing all the mom things for my two Goofballs plus Joe. And the boys were so hyper! Waiting for Joe’s scripts was not a fun thing. Plus GB2 had a little freak-out thinking we were at the doctor’s office for him. After his last visit I don’t think he’ll ever happily go to the doctor again!

We were finally done at the clinic and we all trooped out to the truck and piled in.

The. Truck. Doesn’t. Start.

AAAAHHHHH!!!!! I popped the hood and tried to do something. I took the connection off and put it back on but it was a no go.

I tried calling my friend to see if she was at home for lunch. No answer. I called a lady from church. No answer. I handed the phone to Joe and told him to call the auto shop because I was fighting back the tears and just couldn’t make the call. The guy from the shop, Todd, came to our rescue. He came to the clinic and worked with the truck to get it started. Then we followed him to the shop. He re-cleaned the battery connections and put new bolts on. All for only $35. I would have paid much more because he came to our rescue.

I hope that’s the end. I’m not up for more truck drama.

4 Responses to “It Continues…”


  1. 1 kat March 20, 2007 at 2:36 pm

    boo hoo. I would have kissed the guy!
    Hope tomorrow everyone + everything is working better ?)
    ~~~~
    He was a little greasy around the edges from working on cars, so no kissing! 🙂 Thanks for the good wishes. If I didn’t have to take my older one to school I would stay home and not even try starting the truck.
    -K

  2. 2 Nanno March 20, 2007 at 6:02 pm

    I hate car trouble. And it is worse being a woman because I feel SO helpless and completely at their mercy for some inane little thing or something totally made up.

    Hope tomorrow is better!

    xoxo to all, especially GB2 for the trauma.
    ~~~~
    I know what you’re saying. I get left to make the phone calls since I’m home and I always feel stupid saying “It’s making a sound like this…” But I guess that’s where talking to kids all day comes in handy; I’m getting good at making noises like the boys so I can make clicky car sounds too!
    -K

  3. 3 beki March 21, 2007 at 10:05 am

    Oh my goodness, so sorry to hear about the truck and Joe’s health. I hope some good things come your way soon!
    ~~~~
    Thanks for your concern! Hopefully they will get better. I know that I was feeling much better about things last night. A little time always helps, eh?
    -K

  4. 4 Nanno March 21, 2007 at 1:08 pm

    Not related to this, but, one of my professional journals talked about women and sleep disorders. Try this link for more on women and sleep disorders.

    http://www.sleepfoundation.org/site/apps/nl/content2.asp?c=huIXKjM0IxF&b=2434067&ct=3618771

    If you don’t get to the article on “Stressed Out Women Have No Time for Sleep” go to the main page, 2007 press releases. It even talks about RLS (restless leg syndrome) that we can trace back several generations. Also talks about women by segements of of population.
    ~~~~
    That was a very interesting article. I found myself nodding in agreement with much of what I read.
    -K


Leave a Reply

