Let’s Get Real Monday

This post is inspired by Randi at i have to say… Her theme today is spring cleaning. The two worst spots in my house are in the kitchen/dining area.

26-march-2007.jpg

Just look at that picture! The top part of the picture is a counter in my kitchen. It accumulates stuff. Joe and I try to clean it off but it just accumulates more and more stuff. I keep thinking that if I buy/make some sort of organizer I’ll be able to keep it clean and clear. It’s just such a convenient spot to drop the purse and whatever else when I walk in the door. You’d think that since I have so little counter space in my kitchen I would try even harder to keep this nice but no can do.

The bottom part of my picture is my sewing stuff. I had it all put away for a few weeks. But if I want to sew I need my stuff handy. And now I think I have so much stuff that it’s not going to fit back into the bottom of my closet. At least it won’t if I plan on keeping my shoes in there too! Just yesterday Joe made a comment about my mess. So I guess it’s time to seriously put it away again. Who knows how long that will last, though.

BTW, we saw the TMNT movie Saturday. The boys LOVED it. I liked it too. Joe and my Goofballs wore their eye masks. But they won’t model for me to take a picture.

6 Responses to “Let’s Get Real Monday”


  1. 1 Kathleen March 26, 2007 at 2:35 pm

    My sewing stuff tends to spread out too. Any flat surface is a target. Have fun organizing!
    ~~~~
    I try to keep it confined to one space but it eventually spreads out. DANG STUFF!
    -K

  2. 2 kat March 26, 2007 at 3:07 pm

    Good luck organizing. I hate clutter and try really hard to create a space for everything. And in an ideal home, that might work. But my home… is far from idea. As much as I try, my husband + kids, well, they don’t much care 🙂 So I try my best, and well, go with the flow.

    I never mentioned to my son the TMNT movie… but I guess some kids at school said something to him today and he wants to go to the movies this week. I’m glad YOU liked it! Since it looks like I’ll be watching it soon too.
    ~~~~
    I hate organizing! But when I do it I feel better and clearer. I’m glad I’m not a person who has absolutely no clutter, but sometimes it would be nice!

    Have fun at the movies! I’m sure your son will love it!
    -K

  3. 3 Nanno March 26, 2007 at 3:38 pm

    See: http://www.ksl.com/index.php?nid=148&sid=1033299

    “Organized means neat,” says one man. “You should be able to walk in, and things should be clear [with] no clutter.”

    His sister disagrees. “As long as you know where everything is, you’re organized. Just being neat doesn’t mean you’re organized.”

    Apparently, a growing number of professional organizers agree with her. There is even a new book out called “A Perfect Mess: The Hidden Benefits of Disorder.”

    I am buying the book. I call my office organized chaos and apparently, if it works for me that is okay!!
    ~~~~
    If it works for you, do it! You’ll have to tell me how the book is. Or maybe when I come visit in May/June I can browse through it.
    -K

  4. 4 Jill March 26, 2007 at 5:36 pm

    We have a spot in the kitchen that is just perfect for setting down a book bag or lunch sack or purse…and we’re limited with counter space, too.

    Thanks for posting! Best wishes in getting straightened up!

    XO
    ~~~~
    Thanks! We’ll see how it goes. I just don’t want to put the sewing stuff away! Maybe if I just trim it down a bit it’ll be OK.
    -K

  5. 5 Randi March 26, 2007 at 8:02 pm

    It is hard to keep craft stuff organized especially if you don’t have a lot of extra room. Don’t throw the shoes out though–those are a girls best friend, you know!

    Thanks for playing!
    ~~~~
    I would never throw my shoes out! As I’ve said before, a girl can never have too many shoes or too many bags/purses. Thanks for suggesting the get real moment!
    -K

  6. 6 jmarz March 27, 2007 at 9:54 pm

    I admit that some of the mess in the picture is mine. Like the…ummm. Well I can see a… ummm. I think under the purse is one of my….ummm. Now that I look a little closer I don’t see any of my stuff in either pictures. Wait, in the top picture is my Ninja Turtles mask I wore to the movie on Saturday.
    ~~~~
    Ha ha ha… But when you are home your wallet and cell phone are sitting there too! And it’s not just my stuff. There is kid stuff there too. I’m not the only “messy” person here. 😀
    -K


Leave a Reply

