Darn the Spring Break!

I’m going crazy this week and it’s only Tuesday! Goofball #1 doesn’t have school all week. His preschool follows the school district’s schedule so he is off for Spring Break. And I say Bah Humbug to that! If I would have been thinking ahead and if finances were better I think we would have gone to the coast. I started looking Sunday to see if we could find an economical place to stay this coming weekend. But no. I’m not paying over $100 a night for cheap motel! And Joe says he would rather wait till the summer to go to the coast. That sounds good to me. But now I feel like I’m getting cabin fever!

 

Yesterday the weather was so dreary. Grey and rainy and too cold to send the kids out to play. First they colored all over their arms with markers. Then they played in their rooms and made big huge messes! All the toys and books were all over the place. And to top it off I was grumpy. For some reason Mondays are the hardest for us… Joe goes back to work and the boys and I get on each others nerves. Maybe if GB1 weren’t so much like me we wouldn’t butt heads so much.

 

The good thing about yesterday was all the phone calls. I talked to my Mom, my sister Dena, my sister Nann, and my friend Khris. I’ll go days without a call and them wham-o! Maybe they knew I wasn’t having the best day.

 

At least we have sun today so maybe we can spend some time outside. I just don’t know what to do to keep them both busy. And I want them busy so I can sew. I’m itching to pull out the sewing machine. Maybe after lunch… If the weather keeps nice they can go play out back (thank goodness for a fenced in yard!!!) and I can sew inside.

 

I’m amazed every day about how much my Goofballs are growing and learning. Goofball #1 is just so smart. A few days ago I was wearing a sweatshirt that had “BOSTON” on the front. He was able to name all the letter except the N. I was amazed. And in preschool he is working on beginning math. I’m glad we were able to find a good preschool. I just don’t have the patience to try and teach him this stuff. Before I enrolled him in preschool I would try to teach him stuff but it got to the point that he wouldn’t even want to color with me. (I’m very thankful he’s not a girl because I think the head butting thing would be much, much worse!!)

 

Goofball #2 is smart too! His vocabulary is growing like crazy and it’s getting a bit easier for me to understand him. And now he will talk on the phone. Of course, the only words he uses while on the phone are “hello”, “uh-huh”, and “bye”. GB2 is also going through a stage involving shoes. Last night I took off his shoes so I could put his PJs on and he had a little fit. Then this morning he wanted his shoes on and got mad when I took off his PJs and put on his pants before putting on his shoes. Sheesh! I think he just loves being outside and shoes = outside to him.

1 Response to “Darn the Spring Break!”


  1. 1 kat March 27, 2007 at 11:22 am

    Oh I hear you with trying to keep two preschoolers busy. Insane! Even though they are in school in the morning, I then have to figure out what they can do in the afternoon. I try not to have the TV on until the evening. It’s hard!
    ~~~~
    It’s so hard. I try to think of activities but it gets hard. Especially when the sun turns to rain.
    -K


Leave a Reply

