Back to Normal

Or maybe better than normal? Spring Break is over and we’re getting back into our groove. Goofball #1 had a little bit of a rough day in pre-school on Monday. I think part of it is that he was the only boy. Yesterday was a better day at pre-school. They had an Easter party. They decorated eggs and had an egg hunt and played outside and had a picnic. Siblings were invited so Goofball #2 got to go and have fun too.

The sleeping situation around here is getting better. Goofball #2 is refusing to take naps. I can maybe get him to nap once a week at the most. However, he has been sleeping MUCH better at night. YAY! He’s averaging a 5 to 6 hour stretch. But two nights ago he went to bed at 9 PM and didn’t wake up until 6 AM (YAY! YAY!) and then fell back asleep till 8:30 AM. It was the best night of sleep that I’ve had in about two years. Last night he had a seven hour stretch so I think we are doing well. Now if I could just fall asleep at a decent hour things would be great!

5-april-2007.jpg

I put together the blocks for one of the Crazy Eight quilts. It was fun at first but then I was getting annoyed with keeping things in order. But my 32 blocks (four sets of eight blocks) are done and I need to spread them out on the floor and arrange them so I can try to not have two of the same fabrics touching.

Is anyone watching Top Design or Idol? In Top Design I’m glad that Carissa made it to the final! I like her bold use of color. But I’m not brave enough to do that to my house. Maybe if I didn’t have blue carpet it would be different. And on Idol I’m SOOOO bummed that Gina is gone! She was my favorite! I think it was the genre that did her in. Seriously, how can Sanjaya stay in and Gina gets offed? I hope Gina can make it now that she’s gotten exposure from Idol.

4 Responses to “Back to Normal”


  1. 1 Dena April 5, 2007 at 4:58 pm

    Yeah I’m watching Top Design, I really thought Matt was going to go, I wasn’t as impressed with his design. Shows how much I know. Carissa always puts together a good room if she could just do it without all the complaining.

    I’m so excited for you that GB#2 is sleeping better at night. That makes the whole world better. Even if you don’t go to bed earlier. Love the quilt blocks. But I want you to make me a bag for my R.S. stuff. I’ll pay you for the fabric. Please, Please, Please.
    ~~~~
    I should have guessed you were watching it too. It must be in our genes to watch these shows, eh? I’m excited about GB2 as well. But he had a two hour nap yesterday so he didn’t sleep as well last night. But it wasn’t terrible. I replied in email about the bag. I’d love to do it!
    -K

  2. 2 lera April 5, 2007 at 6:08 pm

    Hi Kathy.

    I was just reading your blog. Your little Goofballs are adorable. Sorry about your hubby and your truck. I’m sure it’s very frustrating.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting. It’s nice to find other bloggers, especially LDS bloggers.

    I don’t have your email, but I wanted to respond about the Shrinky Dinks. I made them in our toaster oven and I kept them in until they flattened out themselves. I was afraid they’d shrivel up to nothing, but I left them in a few seconds longer and they looked better.
    ~~~~
    Thanks for coming by! Since I don’t have a toaster oven I’ll have to try this in the big oven.
    -K

  3. 3 Wende April 5, 2007 at 6:24 pm

    If Matt doesn’t win TD I’ll cry. But, then I cry easily these days. 😀
    ~~~~
    Matt probably will win. He seems to be more in line with the magazine’s style. But I do love Carissa’s style. Funky. 😀 I hope some of those cries are good cries! I’m glad your not stopping blogging altogether. I would sure miss you!
    -K

  4. 4 kat April 6, 2007 at 4:53 am

    Congrats on the sleeping! I can totally relate. My kids have the energy of an energizer bunny. {or myself + husband} Trying to establish bedtimes and wake them up early despite staying up. Hard to do, but we’re getting there.

    your quilt is beautiful. Can’t wait to see it all together. I can tell it was a lot of work, but the end result is going to be so worth it. Good for you!

    Top design. Yea for Clarissa + Matt. Andrea’s rooms were devoid of personality + warmth. Much like her. I think in the end, Matt is going to take it all. He’s really good. Sophisticated. Understated. Just elegant. But gosh, does him voice drive me nuts.

    American Idol… I have not been watching faithfully…but the few times I have watched I thought Gina was going to be around till the end. A shame. She’s someone with a definite voice and point of view.
    I have no idea about this Sanjaya kid.
    ~~~~
    Energizer bunny is an apt description! I think they go and go and go until they drop off to sleep. Ah, to have the energy of my children… 😀

    Your description of Andrea’s rooms is spot-on, I think. Very devoid of personality and warmth.
    -K


Leave a Reply

