Diaper Cases

9-april-2007.jpg 

 

I’ve been working on the diaper cases I mentioned in my last post. LOVE THEM! I cut out four and have sewn two together. The robot print is for me. I had to use scraps from my two red pieces as my lining but it worked great! The red and purple cases are for my niece Tiffany who has two girls in diapers (one for each girl so she can keep the separate sizes straight). The green one is for my niece Sandy who has one boy in diapers. Then with the scraps from the purple and green I’m going to cut out one for my friend April who is expecting her first – she dropped by while I was sewing so I offered to make one for her too. She seemed pretty excited about it. Edited: I’m an airhead! I couldn’t think of anyone else who had a baby in diapers and I totally forgot Joe’s sister, Alina. DUH! So I’ll make one for her. April can wait, she isn’t half way yet so there is plenty of time to make one for her.

This pattern was pretty easy to follow and didn’t take much time. My only issue is that I can’t sew curves. I even drew out the curve so it would be easier to follow and it didn’t turn out so curvy (see robot case). So on the red one I just did it square and it turned out much better. And that will make it easier to cut out too. I used my rotary cutter to cut them and cutting curves with that was not easy for me.

I’m going to finish up the diaper cases, hopefully today. Then I can start on the dishtowel apron! I bought a simple orange dishtowel at the dollar store and want to make it into an apron. (Joe went to the dollar store for the first time on Saturday. He asked “Is everything really a dollar?” But I don’t think I’ll get him back to the store.)

4 Responses to “Diaper Cases”


  1. 1 kat April 9, 2007 at 11:39 am

    Those are fantastic.
    I would sew one up myself… but I am hoping NOT to need a diaper case. I’m trying to potty train Davis.

    If she would stop running away from me everytime I ask if she wants to use the potty… I might be getting somewhere 🙂

    People say girls are easier than boys… but I don’t think they ever met my Davis. She’s a stubborn little thing.
    ~~~~
    If that’s true, that girls are easier than boys, then I think you’re in trouble!! 😉 My oldest was pretty easy to train. Except when it came to pooping. He refused to do that in the toilet. We finally got him to in December – a year after we started the potty training! I’m pretty sure my youngest will be easier. Later this summer I’m going to try him out but since he’ll only be 2 we might not do it till next summer. GOOD LUCK!
    -K

  2. 2 brandy April 9, 2007 at 12:48 pm

    Thanks so much for compliment on my mom’s tote! I would love to see yours you made. I am debating whether to make a pillow or me a bag with the remainder of the fabric since I really love the colors in it….decisions decisions! Those diaper cases are adorable! I need to make one of those to use with my 2yr old. But, hopefully, she’ll be potty trained soon.
    ~~~~
    I’m going to finally post that picture today because I got the tote all packaged up to send to my friend Khris. I’m a slacker!
    -K

  3. 3 Nanno April 9, 2007 at 1:19 pm

    What about making the curve more of a straight or angled line? Not quite the pattern but would be easier to sew.

    They look great and I like short projects that are a lot of fun.
    ~~~~
    I just connect them in a right angel and it works great. These projects are fun… I bought composition note books yesterday at Wal-Mart to start on the books for my Big Goofball’s preschool. YAY! If only I had more hours in the day to sew.
    -K

  4. 4 Euapap April 29, 2007 at 12:06 pm

    These are really nice. Where did you find the pattern??


Leave a Reply

