Is It Me?

Seriously. Is it me or does it cost more to buy healthier food? In the past week we’ve done a lot of reading about healthy eating and cooking. Luckily things that we already cook can be made healthier by changing a few ingredients. But those ingredients seem to be more expensive!

My sister Dena and I went grocery shopping armed with a shopping list full of low sodium/low fat/ fat free items. We spent a lot of time reading labels and making sure we were buying the best we could. Groceries for six days ended up costing $155. YIKES! Luckily, a nice lady came up to me and gave me a coupon for $10 off at least $50 of groceries. She said she didn’t have enough groceries for $50 and it looked like I could use it. (Don’t you love random acts of kindness?) But after I paid for groceries I saw that lady again and she said she ended up spending $70. I felt so bad!

Today we had a parent teacher conference for Big Goofball. Joe was able to go with me; it was nice to have him there. Big Goofball got graded on four areas: Classroom Behavior, Play Time Behavior, Small Motor Skills, and Identification. Each of these areas has four or five specific things. They get graded on a scale of 1 to 5. One being “Child needs special help in this area” and five being “Doing very well, still room for improvement.” My big goofball got one 4 and the rest were fives. He got the four on “uses appropriate words to communicate” in the Play Time Behavior area. So he needs to work on sharing and talking instead of getting frustrated when someone takes a toy from him. Mrs. L wrote: “[Big Goofball] has improved so much in his social skills. I really enjoyed having him in my school.” Ahhh… J

Last Friday I signed Big Goofball up for Kindergarten. It’s all-day kindergarten. YAY! School starts at 8 AM and ends at 3 PM. I was given a paper saying what they were going to accomplish by the end of the school year and he already can do a lot of it. So I’m hoping that he won’t get bored and that he’ll stay motivated to work hard.

I’m hoping that Friday I’ll be able to pull out the sewing machine. But it might drive Joe crazy. It’s going to be a long summer with him home. We’re going to have to find some routine that will satisfy all of us.

3 Responses to “Is It Me?”


  1. 1 kat May 2, 2007 at 4:34 pm

    nope, not just you! It is way expensive to eat well. Fruit + veggies are never on sale, but the cheez-its + snacks always are 🙂

    Your little one sounds like a smarty! Lucky he can go to Kindergarten full day. My son misses the cut off for entering Kindergarten. We tried to get him into a Charter school, but he’s on the wait list. The Montessori School he was accepted to is wonderful, but we can only afford to send him for the half day (my daughter goes too…it’s a lot of money!)

    I’m glad you are getting yourselves settled and prepped for next week.
    I’ll be thinking of you all. take care, and yes, sew! It will relax you and keep your mind busy!
    ~~~~
    For sure! Fruits and veggies are expensive. It just boggles my mind.

    I hear you on the cost of school! At least you are able to send your kids for a half day. I bet your kids will love it. And you’ll love having a few hours to work on stuff too!
    -K

  2. 2 Nanno May 3, 2007 at 6:46 am

    Healthy food is more expensive. Lean hamburger is nearly twice what “regular” fat is. The cost of salmon and Omega rich fish is really high, and (in my opinion) have to be grilled outside and not in the house. Fresh fruits and veggies are more expensive than canned, that have lots of sodium. Look at the price of olive oil to vegetable oil. You still need the RIGHT fats for healthy skin, connective tissue, and even mental stability. Thank goodness I love oatmeal! I can even eat it without loading in the brown sugar and canned milk – although that is definitely the best.

    Hopefully you will get a local farmers market in 6-8 weeks to help with the cost of fresh produce.

    I hope you get to sew soon. It sure relaxes me. I need to do a clipped flannel blanket for Moulton’s little girl and two more from church. If I do them together I can run them through the washer all at once and the dryer for capturing all the clip fuzz. I do have cute flannel for them. Maybe after work today.
    ~~~~
    Yeah, I can’t wait for the farmers market. I seem to be craving fruit. At least I’m not craving bad stuff, eh? Oh, and thanks for the fabric scraps. I just looked at them this morning. 🙂
    -K

  3. 3 Serena May 4, 2007 at 10:03 am

    In another month you should go check out your local Farmer’s Markets, you should be able to find fresh, if not cheaper, local produce. I found the following site http://www.oregonfarmersmarkets.org/directory.html which lists all the local markets. Wish we had that many around here…
    ~~~~
    Thanks Blissy! I will check that out. I know that last year they had one that was less than a mile from my house.
    -K


Leave a Reply

