And I’m a Dork

We went to see Joe’s heart surgeon today. He’s going to have his bypass surgery on 23 May—two weeks from tomorrow. It’s also Big Goofball’s preschool graduation. I guess his grandmas and grandpas will have to go with him.

I’m glad we know when the surgery is going to be. The sooner it gets done the better. But I’m nervous. The surgeon said that the biggest risk is stroke but that the risk should be pretty minimal.

And then Joe decides he’s going to mow the lawn. The punk! I’d been running errands (making copies of documents, finishing up the blasted letter, and getting it all sent off to the hospital). I came home and he’d already done the back yard. So I did the front yard. And I’m a dork. I’ve only ever mowed once, maybe twice before. Joe said I made it look hard. Harrumph! It wasn’t that bad.

Yesterday I planted some plants that I had started out as seeds. I’m hoping they survive and grow. I just don’t have much of a green thumb. So I’m crossing my fingers that they will thrive so I can have pretty flowers in my front yard. I also ordered a hanging basket from a local nursery. It won’t be ready until the first of June.

Now I’ve got that all behind me I can start making me a skirt. I’ve been wanting to try my hand at sewing some clothes. I have the fabric, a pattern, and a zipper. Yeah. Never done a zipper. My sister Tracy kinda showed me what to do when she was up here visiting. We’ll see if I can actually do it now. I hope to have it done by Sunday so I can have something new to wear for Mother’s Day. I’ll keep you posted.

Oh and Amazing Race. I’m bummed Dustin and Kandice didn’t win. I was rooting for them. I wasn’t bothered that Eric & Danielle won, I wouldn’t have been bothered if Charla and Mirna would have won. I just wish it would have been Dustin & Kandice. An all girl team needs to win! (Joe said that an all girl team had already wone: Reichen and Chip. Har har.)

Edited: So I re-read this yesterday and saw some typos and stuff. Dang WordPress wouldn’t let me fix it. I feel so ashamed for having bad grammar going on here. Especially since my former job consisted of a lot of writing. SHEESH!

4 Responses to “And I’m a Dork”


  1. 1 Happy Zombie May 8, 2007 at 4:23 pm

    I will be keeping you all in my prayers. I’m glad you’re keeping us up to date on your hubby. Big huge hugs!

    PS… I too was bummed the BQ’s didn’t win. I adore them!
    ~~~~
    I’m glad I’m not the only one who loves the BQs!
    -K

  2. 2 kat May 9, 2007 at 3:57 am

    Oh I’ll be thinking about all of you and hoping the surgery goes well. Bummer that it’s on the same day as your son’s graduation. At least the grandparents can be there 🙂

    Good luck with the skirt! I haven’t done a zipper either.
    ~~~~
    Yeah, one of the other moms said she would record it and give me a copy. That will be nice. And I haven’t even cut out the skirt yet. After I post today, then go grocery shopping, and put the food away, then MAYBE I’ll get the chance to work on it.
    -K

  3. 3 mindyme May 9, 2007 at 2:03 pm

    I’m glad things are progressing and Joe is doing well. Your friends back in Utah talk about it a lot.

    I too love the BQs and was diappointed they didn’t win. I can’t believe you like Charla and Mirna. I agree they provided many hours of entertainment (like the Knight scene), but I couldn’t take anymore whining.
    ~~~~
    Thanks Mindy! Of course all of these put the stop to my trip to Utah. 😦 I miss you guys! I was looking forward to going to lunch with Ya’ll!! Next time.

    Shmirna provided much entertainment! On the official AR web site they have a video of them after the finale where they say that they are married. It made me laugh! They were saying it like “don’t be shocked. men do like us”. LOL 🙂
    -K

  4. 4 brandy May 10, 2007 at 7:13 am

    Heaven help me….that sounds like something that would be oh so normal around here lol! I swear, it seems like everytime we go somewhere there is some sort of pee or poo issue. Glad to know it’s not just my kids LOL!
    ~~~~
    So it’s not just my kids. It sure is embarassing. And I couldn’t get mad. When ya gotta go, ya gotta go!
    -K


Leave a Reply

