Waiting for Wednesday

Nothing crafty and very fun around here. We’re just waiting for Wednesday. It’s not good anticipation like going on vacation or Christmas. It’s full of all sorts of worry.

I only want to think positive and hope for the best. I don’t like imagining what the worst case scenario would turn out to be. Not that we haven’t thought about it and talked about it.

Joe and I do a lot of talking about his impending surgery at night before drifting off to sleep. I don’t like to think about the what-ifs, but Joe has. He says he hopes that he has told me and the boys that he loves us enough. He’s been trying to play with the boys more and to be more patient with them. And it makes me cry. I really do hope that no matter what that they know how much Joe and I love them.

And this morning Joe was trying to fill out his living will that the hospital provided him. Wow. Those are some tough decisions to make. It’s really scary to think about.

But his cardiologist said on Friday that this is pretty straight forward, or as straightforward as open heart surgery can be. I’m just afraid that we’ll be the abnormal case where something will go wrong. With the way our luck has been going lately it scares me.

Hopefully with a whole lot of faith and prayer things will go OK. I’ll keep you posted as I can. I’m not sure how much computer time I’m going to get between driving back and forth between Bend and here and trying to spend time with the boys.

2 Responses to “Waiting for Wednesday”


  1. 1 kat May 22, 2007 at 4:01 am

    I’ll be thinking about you all and sending good happy thoughts your way! Best wishes!
    ~~~~
    Thanks Kristen! We will be needing those good thoughts! I’m taking some embroidery, the newest issue of Blueprint, some tunes and a good book to keep me occupied while I wait. Hopefully it will cut down on the anxiousness.
    -K

  2. 2 Dena May 22, 2007 at 11:40 am

    We’ll be praying for all of you. Travel safe on that road between Bend and Prineville.
    ~~~~
    Oh geez! I’ll need to be safe. We have to have Joe at the hospital by 5:45 AM tomorrow!!! YIKES! So we have to leave here no later than 5 AM. Reminds me of taking you to the airport so early in the morning! 🙂
    -K


Leave a Reply

