Nesting

When I was pregnant with Big Goofball I remember hearing about “Nesting”. Ya know, when you know it’s close to delivery time so you go around cleaning your nest? We’ve been nesting here in Casa Marzie.

Between Joe and me, with a little “help” from the Goofballs, we did a lot today. I cleaned both bathrooms (not my favorite chore); Joe did the dishes and vacuumed. Big Goofball cleaned the toilets. Little Goofball squirted water in the tub to help—it was just something to keep him busy. Joe cleaned up his fly tying stuff; I cleaned up my sewing stuff. I cleaned the windows on the screen door and the sliding glass doors, with Little Goofball squirting my clean windows! I polished the piano.

Joe hung my quilt rack so I could put up my awesome quilt my mom made me. (Not a good picture. I took it on an angle because it’s at the end of the hallway. And I need to refold it–it’s been packed away for almost two years and needs to air out.)

 

22-may-2007-1.jpg

Then I wanted to put some of my bowls and crockery on the piano.

 

22-may-2007-2.jpg

 

I was so sad to open the box and see broken bowls. I don’t know if they broke in the move to
Bend or the move to our new little town. *sigh*. I don’t want to throw them out. I keep thinking that there has got to be something that I can do with them. The first bowl is the largest of a set of five from Crate & Barrel. The second is a middle bowl that is part of the set on the right side of my piano.

 

22-may-2007-4.jpg

22-may-2007-5.jpg

And I want to hang up this cool bowl my parents brought home from Morocco a few years ago. It’s temporary home is on the piano. Can you tell I have a thing for bowls and pottery and crockery!

22-may-2007-3.jpg

 

That’s all for now. We’ve got to get Joe to the hospital by 5:45 in the morning. YIKES! He’s surgery will be at 7:30. Hopefully I’ll get home early enough to post an update, but no promises. I just know that I don’t want to be driving that two-lane highway in the dark unless I absolutely have to!

1 Response to “Nesting”


  1. 1 Nanno May 23, 2007 at 6:43 am

    This looks great. It is the little touches like this that put your stamp on your house. And I recognize so much of it.
    Thinking of you today. I’ll call you later.
    ~~~~
    Yup, feels more like home with all the knick-knacks from Orem.
    -K


Leave a Reply

