Joe’s Home

Joe’s home. Our family is complete again. But there is still a long road to being fully recovered. He’s posted a little about his surgery here. I wanted him to take a picture of his chest and post it but he doesn’t even want to take a picture. I guess it’s just too painful for him to look at it in the mirror so why take a picture.

It’s been an emotional rollercoaster. More so since he’s come home, at least for me. So I’m feeling very blah. I didn’t even feel like posting but I thought that I should just so my friends and bloggy friends can know what’s going on. Here’s my “woe is me” moment: I’m feeling neglected.

I shouldn’t feel that way, I guess. I mean, I’ve had Joe’s parents here to take care of the kids. And now Joe’s brother is here to help take care of Joe. My sister sent a care package that included fabric from her and from my mom. But I’m still just feeling bad for myself.

I’m sure I’ll snap out of it soon.

3 Responses to “Joe’s Home”


  1. 1 kat May 30, 2007 at 4:18 am

    you just went through a major emotional situation + it’s not over… no wonder you feel blah! I’m happy that joe is on the road to recover, but don’t forget to take care of yourself!
    ~~~~
    I’ll try. But I’m afraid my needs are in last place. Yuck.
    -K

  2. 2 mindyme May 30, 2007 at 6:49 am

    I’m glad to hear he’s home and things went well. Take some time out, put on a spice girls CD, grab a coke and some M&M’s and you’ll feel better soon. If that doesn’t work, give us a call and I’ll have Jeron tell you a joke
    ~~~~
    Wow, you know me so well. Spice Girls, Coke & M&Ms. Mmmm… I don’t know if a joke from Jeron would make me laugh or cry.
    -K

  3. 3 Nanno May 30, 2007 at 7:33 am

    At least you are recognizing that you have Care Giver Fatigue. You have been care giver, wife, and Mommy without being YOU and it is a very NORMAL response. Take care of yourself a little (a lot really) too. You have been on an adrenalin maintained 5-6 weeks and now are in the let down. Take a bubble bath, take a book and escape ALONE (while you have a helper) to the park for 1/2 hour, wander the thrift store or dollar store and take time to day dream. It is well documented that women, especially mommies and wives, need at least some time every day to reconnect and just be you! So revel in this too, even though it may be hard, and remember, it is NOT a pity party but a celebration of YOU!!
    ~~~~
    So when will this fatigue end? I did have some alone time today. The boys were with church members and Joe went for a ride with his brother. I didn’t know what to do with myself so I vegged out in front of the TV and watched a marathon on Shear Genius on Bravo. I only have an episode and a half to go and I’ll have watched the whole season.
    -K


Leave a Reply

