Handwork

1-june-2007.jpg

I’ve been doing a little handwork since I put my sewing machine away for a while. I got this pattern out of a BH&G magazine from 1972. It’s actually a pattern for crewel work. But I don’t have the right materials to do real crewel work so I’m doing it as an embroidery project. I think it might end up as a pillow. We’ll see where it goes.

I need to pull out the sewing machine soon. I’ve got a big pile of fabric. I need to work on decreasing it because it won’t all fit in my closet. But I’m not complaining. Plus, my friend April found out last week that she is having a girl. I thought she was going to have a boy so I had started working on a boy blanket. Now I’ve got to work on a girl one. Plus some diaper cases.

All of our help is gone. It’s just the four of us at home now. We’re going to have to figure out some schedule and routine. Unfortunately it’s getting really hot now so I can’t send the boys out to play in the middle of the day. And we are working out the best way to work the fans to keep the house cool.

3 Responses to “Handwork”


  1. 1 lera June 1, 2007 at 2:46 pm

    Very cute.
    And I know what you’re saying about the heat. We’re on the opposite coast and we are sweltering already!
    ~~~~
    I bet you have more humidity than we do. Central Oregon is pretty arid. Little mercies, eh? I don’t do so well with lots of humidity!
    -K

  2. 2 Sadira June 2, 2007 at 2:16 pm

    Summer is officially here isn’t it? But, I think that your beautiful embroidery project is the perfect way to stay cool (those pesky sewing machines get so very hot don’t they?)
    ~~~~
    I was just thinking about that. When I use my machine I set it on the kitchen table. Which is right by the window with our AC unit. So I know if I used my machine that it would make the AC go non-stop! How I miss central air!!!!

    But I’ve got to get to some sewing soon!
    -K

  3. 3 Nanno June 4, 2007 at 12:37 pm

    The pattern reminds me of being in HS in the 70’s – crewel was really big then. They have a lot of new “fiber” that would be fun to try. I’ll have to rumage through my stashes. I do have some bright Brazilian embroidery thread that is shiny and unravels a bit, some of it is even hand dyed.
    You know I hate the heat so I feel your pain. Fans are as high as the papers all over my desk will allow.
    ~~~~
    I haven’t really found a store here with “fiber”. Just some quilt shops and Joanns. Maybe Stitchin’ Post, but I don’t get over to Sisters very often. In fact, last time was with you!
    -K


Leave a Reply

