CD Poket

No, that’s not a typo. Irene over at Mushroom Villagers created this CD Poket and tutorial. She’s kindly shared it on her web site. As soon as I saw it posted I had to try. Especially since I bugged her to make a tutorial. (Irene – did I say thank you? Well, THANK YOU!)

16-june-2007.jpg

(I took this outside on the deck. The sun was going down. I thought I had better light than this but oh well.)

I made three of them. It didn’t take much time. The instructions were pretty clear. The hardest part was folding and ironing the hem. I have issues with folding and hemming that started long ago. If you look really closely, you can see that some hems are bigger than others. Or maybe you wouldn’t have noticed if I wouldn’t have mentioned it.

Once I got the hem folded it took me less than an hour to sew all three of them. I didn’t have heavy enough interfacing to go in the middle so I was going to use cardboard. But I was trying to hurry and couldn’t think how to finish up the top after stuffiing it was cardboard. Another thing I learned is it would probably be better with a smaller scale print since you can’t see much of the print on these. But they were pretty cool fabrics.

Anyway, I don’t listen to CDs much. Joe has me hooked on Sirius Satellite. I listen to it in the truck and at home. Occasionally, when I leave the receiver in the truck, I’ll listen to CDs. But I have them stacked up on top of the fridge. So maybe I do need some CD cases. The point here, though, is that I made these for other people. They are going to three people who have helped my family out these past two months in ways that I hope to repay some day.

4 Responses to “CD Poket”


  1. 1 lera June 17, 2007 at 9:57 am

    Those are very cute. I had not seen them yet. I think I’ll have to try them!
    ~~~~
    They’re so easy and fun. I think they’d be good quick gifts.
    -K

  2. 2 Wende June 17, 2007 at 6:28 pm

    I’m so glad to see you’re getting time with your sewing machine. These are seriously cute and useful! My kind of combination. And your clam diggers are sweet! šŸ˜€
    ~~~~
    It’s been nice pulling out the old machine. But I get a little self absorbed when I’m sewing. I think especially since Joe is home I think I can just sew and not worry about the kids! I better not get used to it!
    -K

  3. 3 rae June 18, 2007 at 8:54 pm

    Those are cute, I like the fabrics!
    oh, I fixed my blog comments so if you want to sometime again, you can leave a comment :]
    ~~~~
    Oh I know! I had a hard time picking fabrics because I love them all! Some of the prints were Amy Butler, which I just LOVE.
    And I’ll leave comments on your blog now. YAY!
    -K

  4. 4 Sadira June 19, 2007 at 6:52 am

    Oh my…I LOVE those!!! And, I think you did a great job, if you care to look at the quilt I made, it’s a bit wonky in places, but what counts is that you made it…now I want to!
    ~~~~
    Well, the CD cases are so cool. I’m sure you’ll get addicted to them if you do just one. If your quilt is on your site I’ll go browsing for it. The quilt stuff I make always turns out wonky too. I have big issues with maintaining my 1/4″ seam allowance and sewing in straight lines. Oh well! That’s what makes it so home made.
    -K


Leave a Reply

