Trip Wrap Up

Utah 2007 Collage

Wow. What a fun trip. I wanted to share some highlights from the trip.

Surprise!Surprising everyone was fun. We went to my parents’ first. Only my dad was home. He was surprised. He called my mom to see where she was (fabric shopping with my sister). He wanted to surprise my mom and hide our truck. Unfortunately our truck is too long for their garage so it was outside when my mom got home. When we saw my mom and sis pulling up I went out side and my mom jumped from the car before it came to a complete stop to give me a big hug. And I didn’t cry! When we went to Joe’s parents his dad was outside when we pulled up. The look on his face was priceless. Before we were out of the truck he went inside to get Joe’s mom. She was surprised too.

Fabric Shopping.That first Saturday we were there happened to be the last day of a shop hop. My mom and sis. Nann took me to two stores. The first store is actually my sis. Carrie’s store. I was so in LOVE with this set of fabrics from Moda. So Nann spoiled me and bought me a package of fat quarters and some yardage to go with it. At the next store my mom spoiled me. I got a longer ruler for cutting out fabrics, a bias tape maker (I’ve been so wanting one since reading Lera’s poston it), and fat quarters that were 88 cents a piece! Plus, Nann had already bought me some of those 88 cent fat quarters when they were there the day before so I am set! And we had Cafe Rio salads for lunch/dinner. Mmm… Then when I visited my sister Carrie she sent me home with a sack full of fat quarters. I’m so set!

Soccer.Joe and Sai went to a Real Salt Lake soccer game. And Real actually won!

Visiting With Friends.I got to have lunch with Mindy, Serena, and Jeron. At Cafe Rio. YES! It was fun catching up with them. We also stopped by our friends Ken & Keli. They boys had a blast checking out all of Ken’s Star Wars and Transformer toys. Unfortunately we didn’t get to visit all of our friends while we were there–sickness (Sai spent a day throwing up in the truck and on my mom’s furniture) and time were against us!

11 Years.Joe and I celebrated our 11th wedding anniversary. Since we were around family we got to do some kid-free things. YAY! We had lunch at Macaroni Grill. My mouth waters just thinking about the Penne Rustica and Chocolate Cake! Then we went to a movie. We saw the new Fantastic Four movie.

IKEA!!!Joe and I went to the Ikea in Salt Lake while the boys went to the dinosaur museum with their grandparents. I wanted so many things. More furniture and stuff. However, I spent less than $10. Can you imagine? That’s the first time I’ve left Ikea without buying at least one item of furniture.

5 Years.Sai celebrated his 5th birthday. He had two days of celebration. One day with Joe’s family and one day with my family. He’s so spoiled. And he got so much Transformer stuff.

Coming Home. It was a good trip. But it was time to come home. We’ve got to get back into the rhythm of our lives. Joe heads back to work on Monday. He’s ready to go back. But we’ve had a lot of fun with him at home with us. When I checked my e-mail and bloglines I felt like a was a career girl again because there was so much! Plus the patterns I ordered from Linda at Craft Applewere waiting for me! YAY!

5 Responses to “Trip Wrap Up”


  1. 1 brandy July 5, 2007 at 3:58 am

    Aw, sounds like you guys had a great time! Glad you’re home safe and sound. I’m jealous of all that new fabric!
    ~~~~
    It was fun and I’m glad we are home safe and sound too. I’ll have to take a picture of ALL the fabric I came home with. Oh-La-La!!!
    -K

  2. 2 kat July 5, 2007 at 4:12 am

    Sounds like you had the best time 🙂
    Family is sometimes all you need!
    Can’t wait to see what you sew up next!
    ~~~~
    I have so many ideas for projects floating around my head. Now I just have to find time. Gotta get the house back in order after more than a week away.
    -K

  3. 3 Sadira July 5, 2007 at 8:29 am

    It sounds like a wonderful trip! I can’t wait to see the fat quarters and all the fun creativity you’ll no doubt be jumping right on…probably after you get back into your routine, do all the laundry, clean the house…blah blah blah 😉
    ~~~~
    Yeah, back to the routine. But it’s good. I feel recharged and ready to go.
    -K

  4. 4 rae July 5, 2007 at 1:12 pm

    Wow, it sounds like you guys hada great time up there and got to squeeze lots of stuff into your visit! You got lots of cute new fabrics. I’m jelous that you got to go to Ikea and I want that star quilt that’s hanging up in someone’s house in that picture!!!
    ~~~~
    Those quilts were my mom’s. The star quilt is way cute! Maybe some day I’ll be that good, too.
    -K

  5. 5 lera July 5, 2007 at 3:02 pm

    It sounds like you had a wonderful time. I’m so happy that it all worked out and you were able to make it home before Joe had to return to work.

    Now, when he leaves for work on Monday and the kids are distracted, make some bias tape! You won’t regret it. Well, you might regret it when you see how addictive it can be …
    ~~~~
    Can you believe I haven’t broken out the bias tape maker yet? We’ve been busy settling in and Joe’s had doctor appointments etc. But soon.
    -K


Leave a Reply

