Latest Creation

I’ve been thinking about this one for a while. I’m out with the kids and need to change a diaper. I’ve got diapers in my diaper case in my bag, but the changing table NEVER has any liners. I try to get the toilet liners to cover the surface but that’s not always an option.

So how about a cross between a diaper case and a changing pad? Yeah. So I made a prototype. I used fusible fleece to give it a little padding. And I made the binding tape with the tape maker. I sewed lines on the fold lines so it would be easy to refold after washing. I need to do a little fine tuning with the diaper case part. What do you think? (Yeah, I know it is out of “girlie” fabric and my kids are boys. I need to find some good boy-ish fabric in my stash to make one for my bag.)

Here it is all folded up. This pocket is for the diapers and wipes.

Changing Pad-1

Here’s a side view all folded up.

Changing Pad-2

Opening up…

Changing Pad-3

Changing Pad-4

Here it is!

Changing Pad-5

And the other side too.

Changing Pad-6

I did all this measuring and marking before sewing anything but it looks crooked in my pictures. Oh well. More for me to tune up.

10 Responses to “Latest Creation”


  1. 1 Dena July 7, 2007 at 7:35 pm

    You are just getting too creative and smart. Definitely gained some skills from Mom and some of your sisters (not me). That changing pad/diaper bag looks great. I can’t believe all the fabric you ended up with, how did you get it all back up to Oregon? The truck must have been weighted down! Tell Joe good luck Monday when he heads back to work.
    ~~~~
    Luckily we took a few boxes to Utah (clothes for Sandy’s little one) with us that didn’t come home so we had room for my fabric. And Joe’s ready for work, but his boss is slow. So he’s trying to get in contact with the business manager at the union to get some other work until his boss is busy. It’s so frustrating! He can finally go back and financially we really need him to but… I keep dreaming about money because it’s weighing so heavily on my mind. We’ll figure it out some how.
    -K

  2. 2 Nanno July 7, 2007 at 8:01 pm

    This is a great idea and I like the layout. Another thing to think about… I bought some bag fabric today just in case. (Grand opening 25% off at Mormon Handicraft…)
    ~~~~
    Yup, another thing to think about. If I can schedule dedicated sewing time that doesn’t interfere with me taking care of the boys then I really want to be sewing more stuff like that.
    How was the opening of Mormon Handicraft? I didn’t even look at the fabric when I went to Deseret Book. I just looked at patterns.
    -K

  3. 3 craftapple July 7, 2007 at 9:49 pm

    Really brilliant idea. Boy I’m soooo glad to be out of that stage! Those changing tables usually LOOK fairly clean, but I just know there are tons of germs lurking on the surface!

  4. 4 Irene July 7, 2007 at 10:39 pm

    Great idea! I’ve been wanting to make something like this for a long, long time- oh for about 5 years, but just haven’t. I even bought some oilcloth (like 3 years ago) since I wanted to be able to sanitize it. I guess I really should take it out and give it a try. I think your idea of sewing the fold lines is genius! You’re inspired me.
    ~~~~
    I hadn’t thought about oilcloth. I just figured if I made something that I could throw in the washer that it would work. Give it a try. If you want my dimensions or anything email me and I’ll tell you what I did.
    -K

  5. 5 kat July 8, 2007 at 4:38 am

    super idea! Though I am hoping not to need something like this… trying to potty train Davis right now! Nice job!
    ~~~~
    How is the potty training going? I thought Jay might be interested–he would go up to the toilet when his brother was going etc. So I pulled out our little potty and some training pants. I set him on the potty but he wouldn’t even try to go. Then he wet his training pants (he had said he pooped, luckily not). So I gave up and put a diaper back on. Guess I didn’t try hard enough. Maybe in a month or two. I hope that if I leave the little potty in the bathroom it might inspire him.
    -K

  6. 6 lera July 8, 2007 at 4:25 pm

    That is very cute. And so what if it’s kinda girly? They really don’t make enough boyish fabrics in my opinion.

    Did you like making the bias tape?
    ~~~~
    I like making the tape. But I used remnants of one of my fabrics so I didn’t make it bias. I’m sure it’s probably easier to run through the tape maker when it’s cut on the bias. But it was fun and I see the addiction. 🙂 And what’s with no boyish fabrics? It’s like buying clothes for kids and there is always tons of cute girl stuff but hardly anything in the boy section. Pshaw!
    -K

  7. 7 Sadira July 10, 2007 at 7:11 am

    What a wonderful idea…I really like the fabric choices…I suppose it’s OK to match your diaper bag and not the gender of your kids right? It’s great to spend all sorts of time making something just right isn’t it? Plus, it sounds like something you really needed…love it!!

  8. 8 capello July 11, 2007 at 12:32 pm

    it might just look crooked in your pix due to the camera angle and Not Actually Be Crooked.

    cute!
    ~~~~
    Thanks! I like it. But need to do a non-girly one that I can proudly put my son on while I change his diaper.
    Maybe it is the camera angles. I need to work on my picture taking. I have a hard time with setting, lighting, angles. Ugh! I have a digital camera so I may as well take advantage of it. Right?
    -K

  9. 9 Mirre July 11, 2007 at 1:07 pm

    It’s lovely!
    I made something like this last year, but it really didn’t turn out as fancy as yours 😉

  10. 10 Denise Wheeler July 16, 2007 at 8:08 pm

    Kathy,
    Thanks for stopping by my blog! Popped over to yours and found this wonderful creation you did for a changing pad! I am determined to make a few now for friends and hopefully my grandson. Since you live so close we should get together sometime for something cold to drink and snacks for the kids. My kids love to hit the snack bar at Target! My e-mail is d_dwheeler@yahoo.com. Lets chat… Denise
    ~~~~
    Denise,
    The changing pad was very simple. I just used some fat quarters. We should totally try to get together! I love Target, too! So maybe sometime next week? I’m pretty open right now. E-mail me back with a date/time that works for you.
    Kathy


Leave a Reply

