Other

marzan family

I read this in Glamour magazine last night:

“Seven percent of marriages in the U.S. today (4 million) are interracial or interethnic, compared with less than 2 percent in 1970. Study by Stanford University Sociologist Michael Rosenfeld.”

It has just stuck with me. Mostly because Joe and I are an “interracial or interethnic” couple. It’s something that I really don’t think about until someone points it out to me or asks what Joe’s ethnicity is. Should it really matter? No.

And that leads to those stupid ethnicity questions on questionnaires. Most recently when I signed Sai up for Kindergarten. They noticed his middle name, which is “ethnic”, and wanted to mark Hispanic on the questionaire. But I wouldn’t really say he is Hispanic. He’s got me, one seriously white girl, for a mom. When I first met Joe he called himself a Filipxican (Filipino-Mexican) but he’s also part Caucasian. So what does that make our kids? I told the lady at school that if they had to mark anything to mark other. Should it really matter? No. But for them I guess they get special consideration for having non-white kids in the school.

Then I’m totally hypocritical and wonder if people think our kids match Joe and me. When I’m out alone with the kids do people assume that they are white kids? When the boys are out with Joe do people think they are brown kids? I shouldn’t let it bother me but it does because there are people out there who are cruel about things such as this.

Anyway. Just something on my mind.

8 Responses to “Other”


  1. 1 lera July 12, 2007 at 10:25 am

    Cute, CUTE family. Seriously cute.

    My brother (a very tall, blond, “white” boy) married a very short gal from Guatemale. Their kids definitely look Latino. No doubt about. We often laugh and marvel that these little Latino children have such definitive looks and a very German-sounding last name.
    ~~~~
    I bet they are seriously cute kids! And thanks, that picture of our family is over a year old but I love it!
    -K

  2. 2 Irene July 12, 2007 at 11:23 am

    What a great picture! I came from an interracial family as well- Mom 100% Fijian and my dad 100% Polish. I grew up all over, but really only felt out of place here in the US. People called me everything from Mexican to Indian to Hawaiian. I always threw people off when they met my dad who is very white. Anyway, my kids are a little darker than the average Caucasian, but I can see they will have it much easier than I or my mom ever did fitting in. My mom still gets discriminated against often and it gets me stormin’ mad every time! Hopefully, with all the immigration and mixing of nationalities, this will decrease even more with time.
    ~~~~
    It’s amazing how much discrimination is still out there. I’m dreading the day one of my kids comes home crying. Especially since we live in such a small-not-very-diverse town. But Sai’s two best friends in preschool were the only other two ethnic kids I’ve seen around.
    Joe was asked once what island he was from by a Polynesian. You’d think a Polynesian would know when he wasn’t talking to a fellow Polynesian. But then, when I first met Joe I thought he was one too. LOL
    And I must say I think you have some pretty cute kids yourself. They’re lucky to have a mom like you!
    -K

  3. 3 Dena July 12, 2007 at 12:31 pm

    Interesting, I was thinking about this the other day. Mainly cause I was remembering you saying someone in you ward always brings up interracial marriage. It boggles the mind what some people will say to others. I really don’t often think of your marriage as an interracial marriage, I just think of you as a family. Kind of like I don’t think of Eric as adopted unless someone else brings it up or we’re at the doctor filling out forms.

    The boys really have a good mix of both of you. Put them up next to Owen and they are brown kids, but next to Baylee not so much. Next to Joe’s nephew Jared, they probably look white. All perspective I guess. No matter what you have a GREAT family.
    ~~~~
    Exactly. Something I don’t think about unless someone/something puts it in front of me. Next to Owen my kids sure did look brown. But they always get really brown in the summer. Amazingly, next to Joe’s nephew the boys looked really brown too. Maybe next year when Jared’s a bit bigger and plays outside he’ll be more brown too.
    -K

  4. 4 rae July 12, 2007 at 2:37 pm

    A lot of people ask us about my sister’s kids when they find out their dad is partly Filipino and dark. Tabitha’s skin will tan quickly unlike our very white skin and her nose looks more Asian. But, thye look like white kids for the most part. We were surprised when Madison got blue eyes!

    I don’t know why some people like to make statements or have problems with interracial families. Everyone is intertwined somehow and there are so many different interracial fmailies that I don’t see why it matters. All I see is cute kids!
    ~~~~
    I know. It shouldn’t matter. I usually don’t let other people bother me but sometimes I just get seriously annoyed. And I agree, it’s just cute kids everywhere no matter their skin.
    -K

  5. 5 Sadira July 12, 2007 at 9:13 pm

    Hmmm…I think you are just a beautiful family! I guess I never got the problems people have with different ethnic groups…seriously, I don’t get it at all…I usually just let people act like freaks before I pass any judgment (ha-ha) then I don’t care what color they are, or if they have any color…I just want them out of my space!

  6. 6 joe July 13, 2007 at 8:52 am

    I told Kathy that these studies usually consider an interracial/interethnic couple, a white and non-white person. I asked her, do they consider a person of German descent marrying a person of Irish descent an interracial or interethnic marriage? Usually not. Why is this?

  7. 7 craftapple July 18, 2007 at 7:28 pm

    I could write a book on this! Have you heard of the rule of hypodescent? That if you have any minority in you at all you’ll be regarded as that minority. So in Taiwan I’m considered White. In America I’m considered Asian. (Did I mention I’m half White and half Asian?) So anyway, I say check the minority box. At least when they are applying for college. I was able to get a Thurgood Marshall Assistantship in Grad School. Oh yeah and a race relations scholarship at my 99.9% white college. :o)

    That is a great family picture. And a thoughtful post.
    ~~~~
    I’d never heard of the rule of hypodescent. Interesting. It’s a good point to mark the minority box when it comes to things like college. But is that hypocritical again? Eh, oh well. We need all the help we can get! And thanks, I think my little family is pretty cute.
    -K

  8. 8 colourfulstack August 20, 2007 at 3:05 pm

    hi … i am half south sea islander… whiter than you… married to a Australian… my 3 sons are very handsome… a mothers point of view of course… now i see my oldest son puts when asked about his heritage.. south sea.. i said you are whiter than me… he said … a bit of black gets the girls…. life goes on…you have a beautiful family happy days Margie
    ~~~~
    Thanks for the comment Margie! I’m sure your three sons are very handsome! Yup, that dark skin does get the girls. It’s one of the things I found most attractive about my husband when I first met him!
    -Kathy


Leave a Reply

