New Bag, Attempt 1

So I finally had the sewing bug. I wanted to make me a new bag and I wanted to use these awesome Michael Miller fat quarters. Since they were fat quarters I had to try and make something that would utilize them pretty well.

18 July 2007

This turned out NOTHING like I pictured. So frustrating. The potential is there. But the strap is the issue. I wanted it wide because the strap is also the sides. But it is too wide and too stiff.

So today I spent more than two hours–TWO HOURS–ripping out the seams. What a pain in the bahookie! This is what I have to show for it.

19 July 2007

So hopefully tomorrow I’ll get back to it and make it look good.

4 Responses to “New Bag, Attempt 1”


  1. 1 rae July 19, 2007 at 8:56 pm

    Oh my gosh, I know what a pain in the butt ripping out seams is! I once ripped apart a queen sized bed spread because I wanted to fix something no one else would notice.
    I absolutely love all of those fabrics! I hate when things don’t turn out the way you imaagine them being though so I know how you feel. I’m sure tomorrow you’ll be able to make it perfect!
    ~~~~
    It is a pain! But I was watching my mom do it when we were visiting earlier this month and picked up tricks on how to make it easier. But it still took me FOREVER! It was hard where the brown thread was on the brown part of the fabric because I had a hard time deciding what was the sewing thread and what was thread from the fabric.
    And isn’t that fabric just cool? I love the “wild and crazy” prints. I’ll have to take a pic of the quilt top I put together while in Utah. It’s crazy but I love it!
    -K

  2. 2 lera July 20, 2007 at 3:33 am

    It was cute … and then you took it apart?!?!?!?

    2 hours is a lot of seam rippin’.
    ~~~~
    It wasn’t working for me!!! It was 2 hours interspersed with the kids bugging me for stuff. But I have faith I can make it look “right”. I know. I’m being too picky. 🙂
    -K

  3. 3 Nanno July 20, 2007 at 7:11 am

    I loved the bag. Was it too narrow and deep? A stiff handle is sometimes a boon. Hopefully you will get it where you are happy today.
    ~~~~
    The handle gave it the depth which I wanted but it just looked all wonky and was too wide at the top. I’m going to try the grossgrain ribbon trick. I’m thinking to make it a bit wider to zig zag too lengths of ribbon butted up to each other and then do the fabric around it. I used almost all the fabric so I can’t really make the straps longer which I think would make me happier with the bag. But I sooooo LOVE this fabric. I had another fat quarter each of the flower and stripe but it’s in that bundle you bought me from Carrie’s store and I really want to make that into a quilt so I didn’t pull it out.
    -K

  4. 4 Sadira July 21, 2007 at 12:54 pm

    Crud…I loved the fabric anyway, but maybe the second attempt will be better?


Leave a Reply

