This One Is All About Me

This one is all about me. July 30th is my birthday. And I’m 32. Joe says I’m old. He forgets he’s only two months younger than me. So to celebrate myself here are 32 things you may or may not know about me.

1. I’m the youngest of 8 kids–5 sisters, 2 brothers. The baby. The “spoiled” one. The cutest one!

2. I’m a natural redhead. But with each passing year I feel less and less red and more and more brown. And I have a white streak above my left temple. I think it’s kinda cool.

3. Most of my birthdays growing up were spent camping. I remember one year we were in Yellowstone for my birthday. I thought I was so cool.

4. I grew up in a mortuary. My dad was a mortician.

5. When I turned 5 I got black cowgirl boots. I remember going to see my dad at work and showing him my boots.

6. I love to read. My three favorite authors are Helen Fielding, Sophie Kinsella, and Marian Keyes. They make me laugh, they make me cry.

7. My earliest memory has to be when I was about three-years-old. My best friend from birth to 1st grade, David, was at my house. My mom was doing the laundry and I remember being at the top of the stairs and yelling “Mom!” and then David did it too. I got mad at him and told him she was my mom, not his.

8. Basically, I just love music in general. I like many genres and couldn’t just pinpoint a favorite. Although, I’m really wishing I could see the Spice Girls reunion. Seriously.

9. I love TV. The Amazing Race, So You Think You Can Dance, Grey’s Anatomy, B Original, Uncommon Threads… I could go on.

10. I am a big goofball as well. I guess I should admit my boys get a lot of their goofiness from me–but not all of it, Joe. Like the time I was imitating Lord of the Dance while wearing my Docs and gave myself a good ol’ bruise from kicking myself in the ankle.

11. I love magazines. I always have to stop by the magazine rack in the store. There are so many cool things to see and learn from magazines. And they are all glossy and slick. Ahhh…..

12. I burst into song a lot. It’s wearing off on my kids. I love it when I hear them singing to themselves.

13. Sometimes I wish I were born a few years earlier so I could have remembered more of living in the 80s. Seriously. I’m an 80s child.

14. Two weeks before my youngest was born I went to an Erasure concert. Yeah, big old pregnant lady at the concert. I must say, though, that it was the absolutely coolest concert I’ve ever been to.

15. I’m a shy girl at heart. Only these last few years have I shed a lot of my shyness. I’m still pretty quiet, though. I don’t like talking on the phone that much, but I will talk to my mom and my sisters for more than a few minutes. Probably because I miss them so much.

16. When I was younger I wanted to grow up to be either a fashion designer or a TV announcer.

17. My high school mascot was a Red Devil. Oh yeah. We were so cool.

18. My first job was working at a Little Caesar’s pizza with my best friend Khris. Those were the days.

19. I turned 19 in Prague. I hope to return one day. It’s the most beautiful place in the world.

20. I got married when I was 20 (almost 21). Looking back it seems so young! But we were in love and so far so good. It’s been an amazing 11 years with Joe.

21. I’ve done a bit of travelling. I’ve been to most of the western U.S. I’ve also been to Mexico (just TJ), Canada, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Austria, Hungary, Germany (well, just the airport in Munich), Hong Kong (airport there too), Singapore, Malaysia, Thailand, and Japan (and just the airport in Tokyo as well).

22. I’m a night owl. I stay up late then try to sleep in. But it’s hard to sleep in with two little boys. When Sai’s school starts in September I’m going to have a hard time! Maybe I’ll start taking naps with Jay.

23. My favorite color is blue. I like just about every shade of it.

24. I grew up with the sound of my mom’s sewing machine. I got my sewing machine 6 years ago. But I didn’t really use it until I moved to Oregon. I’ve been into sewing a lot this past year.

25. I like doing laundry. I love the smell of fresh hot clothes out of the dryer.

26. I had my first child, Sai, when I was 26. I was plagued by infertility so I feel really blessed to have him and Jay in my life.

27. I cannot sleep unless all drawers, cupboards and closets are closed. There is a story behind this one. Maybe one day when I have nothing else to write about I’ll share.

28. I have recurring dreams (nightmares?) about needing to use a toilet and not being able to find one that is clean, unoccupied, has a door, etc. Needless to say, I have issues with public restrooms. And I usually have wake up and run to the bathroom.

29. I had my second child, Jay, when I was 29. When in high school I vowed to be done having children by the time I was 30. Guess what, I’m pretty sure I’m done!

30. I moved to Oregon shortly after turning 30. Big scary move for me. But it has been really good for me.

31. I really like to cook. I’m not so keen on the cleaning up part.

32. I’m not very tidy. I’m definitely not a neat freak, but I’m not super messy. I just have a pile on the end of the counter, and a pile of my sewing stuff by the table, and a pile of clothes on the cedar chest in my room.

Whew! That was harder than I thought it would be. So there you go. A little bit more about me.

7 Responses to “This One Is All About Me”


  1. 1 kat July 30, 2007 at 7:10 am

    Happy Birthday to you!
    I hope you have a super day and an even better healthier year!
    Totally enjoyed reading more about you 🙂
    ~~~~
    Thanks! See, I’m so selfish. I mention it’s my birthday so I can get all these happy birthdays from my friends like you!
    -K

  2. 2 Nanno July 30, 2007 at 11:59 am

    Oh Sally!! I had forgotten about the cowboy boots. I remember being so worried that being so much older than you (18 years) I would not “know” you. But, the years are not always that evident, although I remember you as a little baby with auburn red hair and big brown eyes. I remember you stacking my bright 70’s curlers, crying when I left you in the MTC, your first self hair cut, letters when I lived in Florida, sharing a bed room when I moved back home, stomping up the stairs, playing the piano, taking you places and having you sleep over when I lived in SLC. I loved getting to know you as an adult, holding Sai and Jay as babies, going to church with you, going for pedicures, eating out, and having you stay with me for a couple of weeks. I loved coming to visit last year, and even the time we spent cleaning your house so you could move in.

    I love having you as my “baby” sister and may not say it enough. Happy Birthday Kat!
    ~~~~
    Oh man! That made me all teary-eyed! You’ve been a good big sister. I too am glad that we’ve become friends despite our age difference. BTW, after I talked to you last night Sai asked who was on the phone. When I told him he said “I love Aunt Nanna!” I almost called you right back to tell you.
    -K

  3. 3 lera July 30, 2007 at 12:07 pm

    Happy birthday, Kathy! I hope you have a great day!

    (I love the Shopaholic books, although I’ve only read the first three.)
    ~~~~
    Thanks Lera!

    (If you love the Shopaholic books have you read Can You Keep a Secret? That book has me in stitches so I read it when I need a good laugh, like when Joe was in the hospital. Sophie Kinsella’s books always make me feel better about myself. Makes me realize that I don’t have a serious shopping addiction and I don’t say things that I shouldn’t.)
    -K

  4. 4 rae July 30, 2007 at 2:37 pm

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Hope you get to do something fun today for it!

    That was fun to read! I’m a night owl too! and I’m totally jealous of all the travelling you’ve done
    ~~~~
    Thank you! I am so totally a night owl! It’s usually when I get my “me” time to watch what I want on TV or to read. Some of the traveling was for work, which was nice because work paid for it!!!
    -K

  5. 5 Sadira July 30, 2007 at 4:44 pm

    Happy Birthday!!! I loved all the facts about you, we have a few things in common. I am certainly an 80’s girl, as I am a bit older than you (only by 5 years) it was a fun time. I’ve never seen Erasure in concert, but I did see the Spice Girls the first time…and to tell you the truth, it’s the best live show I’ve ever seen. I loved Prague too…absolutely amazing (I went last year…and turned 26 on a hillside in Italy too that trip, on Easter Sunday to boot!)Have a great day!
    ~~~~
    I AM SO FREAKING JEALOUS YOU SAW THE SPICE GIRLS!!!!! And isn’t Prague just beautiful? I remember being up on a hill overlooking the city thinking that it was such a wonderful way to spend a birthday. I’ll have to try having a birthday in Italy now. Thanks for the birthday wishes!
    Kathy

  6. 6 Carrie July 31, 2007 at 5:37 pm

    We were talking last night about age – probably since you and Gary have the same B-day. You were 3 years old when I moved out and 5 when I got married. I feel like I missed some of your growing up years. I learned some new things from your list of 32, and got reminded of some fun things about you. I remember buying you an Easter bonnet and how cute you were in it. How I looked forward to coming home on the weekends to see the “three redheads”. Your love of reading. Being jealous of your gorgeous hair. Watchihg you become a Mom. Gosh, how I love you!! Happy Birthday.
    ~~~~
    I have some memories of you when I was little. Like visiting you in SLC and your orange Datsun and how upset I was when you got married. 🙂 And during my growing-up years I felt like your Jared was the little brother I never had. It’s hard to stay so connected when we each have our own families and duties keeping us busy. But I’m glad you’re my sister and I love you too!
    Kathy

  7. 7 Tinkerblue August 9, 2007 at 9:33 am

    I like Helen Fielding, Marian Keyes and Sophie Kinsella as well. Did you know that Sophie Kinsella also write as Madeleine Wickham. She has a new book out – The Gatecrasher.

    Or that Sophie Kinsella, has a sister who is also an author – Gemma Townley. I like her books too.
    ~~~~
    I had no idea!!! You really are a bibliophile! 🙂 I’m going to have to check out Madeleine Wickham and Gemma Townley now. I really like the humor in books by authors from the UK. And the seriousness, like in Marian Keyes’ books.
    -Kathy


Leave a Reply

