He’s No Baby

I’m having an emotional “mom” moment. I decided to look up Sai’s new school on the internet. I found a calendar of days off and printed it out. Good for future reference. And boy! They have a lot of days off. Then I found a supply list for kindergarten.

And I started crying!

I think the reality of him going off to school is setting in. It makes me sad in a way because he’s not the little boy who would sit on my lap and rub my ear while drinking milk from his sippy cup.

Sai Aug 2004

He’s a big kid! And yet, I’m proud of the big boy he has turned out to be.

Sai Aug 2007

And I’m feeling overwhelmed. I’m already thinking about buying school clothes and supplies. I keep thinking I need to start now because school starts in a month (!!!!) and I don’t know how we are going to afford new clothes for his long legs. Luckily it won’t be cold right off so he can still wear his summer clothes. But he needs a few more pairs of pants (I think I was smart telling my family to buy him jeans for his b-day), some long sleeve shirts, and maybe some more underwear. And all this…

 KINDERGARTEN Please do not put names on supply items as they are shared.2 8 oz Bottles Elmer’s White Glue 4 Glue Sticks2 Boxes 24 Count Regular Size Crayons (primary and secondary colors)1 Water Color Paint Set (regular colors–no neon)1 Pair Scissors (Prefer Fiskars)1 Large Backpack (No Wheels Please)1 Large Box Kleenex2 Dozen #2 Pencils1 Box Zip Lock Bags (any size)1 Set of Markers2 Bottles Liquid Hand Sanitizer1 Pkg. Small Cups (Dixie – 5 Oz.)

1 Box of band Aids

At least now I can watch the sales and hit Wal-Mart and Target when they get the good sales on.

Please pass the tissues. I need a few. 🙂

4 Responses to “He’s No Baby”


  1. 1 lera August 2, 2007 at 11:32 am

    It is hard to see the kids go to school. My #4 is going to kindergarten this year. You’d think I’d be used to it by now, but I’m not. I’m afraid I’ll be sad, too.

    My school supply tip to you is to GO NOW! Last year I waited too long and couldn’t find the good deals. You know the 20 cent glue stick 2 packs at Walmart? Completely out. I had to buy a 6-pack for $3+ and needed to buy quite a few. (This year I needed 30 glue sticks! I bought them already.)
    ~~~~
    OK. I’m going to follow your advice! I don’t want to end up spending the extra money and passing up the deals.

    30 glue sticks?!?!?!?! Wow.

    So I just looked at the online ads for Wal-Mart and Target and they are having the sales now! I think I need to go today, right now, before they run out of the good stuff.

    THANKS for bringing this to my attention. Can you tell it’s my oldest going to school? I’m kinda clueless!!!
    Kathy

  2. 2 Nanno August 2, 2007 at 2:28 pm

    I have been stocking up my shelves and bought crayons for $.20 and glue sticks for cheap. See my e-mail before you get too nervous…
    ~~~~
    Thanks for calling me. Especially since I was at Wal-Mart in the school supply aisle. Whew! It can be overwhelming. I ended up buying him three pairs of pants so he’ll have 5 pair that fit him. Thanks for all your help!!!
    Kathy

  3. 3 Sadira August 2, 2007 at 6:52 pm

    Oh…he’s such a handsome grown up boy, and think of how much fun he’ll have and stories to share with you about his “own life”! I am astounded at the list of stuff families have to buy for school these days. My friend took her son shopping when he was going to kindergarten, and he was sad when he had to share his stuff because he’d felt so grown up picking it up himself! I guess gone are the days that you buy your stuff and get to keep it…weird.
    ~~~~
    What’s funny about him sharing stories, is that even in preschool I’d ask him what he did at school and all he would tell me was “I don’t know!” But I think as he gets older he’ll be less forgetful and will be excited to tell me what happens at school. And Joe and I have been talking about school shopping a lot. Neither of us remember having to buy a list of supplies like this. If we did have to do this we don’t remember. And I am sad that he has to share. I understand why they do it but I’d want to use MY stuff that I bought.
    Kathy

  4. 4 kat August 3, 2007 at 5:32 am

    I’ve been feeling this way for the past week too!
    Where does the time go?

    I just took inventory of clothing and William doesn’t fit ANY of his pants + shoes! So I have to buy all new stuff for him too.

    Luckily I asked my family to give Davis clothes for her birthday so she has tons of new dresses and clothing~ But I’ll still have to get her some stuff.

    Wow, what a list of supplies!
    Luckily we don’t have to buy any. {ah, we’re paying enough in tuition I think!}But I’m always buying art supplies when I see them on sale so we can paint + draw at home.

    Enjoy these last few weeks of summer 🙂
    ~~~~
    Isn’t it crazy how fast they grow?! With Sai, every time the season changes I have to buy new clothes because he doesn’t fit into the ones he wore the previous year. Except this summer I had him wear the same shorts because they fit his tummy and I thought it would be OK if they were a little shorter than the previous year. And luckily, Jay fits into all of Sai’s old clothes. So I really feel for you! It’s not like cute little Davis can wear William’s old clothes! Clothes for kids are just as expensive as clothes for adults! And I want my kids to look cute so I don’t buy just anything for them!

    Anyway, we are trying to enjoy the last few weeks of summer. I can’t believe how quickly the summer went and it has felt like we haven’t done the things we were planning on doing. Oh well. Now I just wish the weather would cooperate and start getting a little cooler once school starts. 🙂
    Kathy


Leave a Reply

