Rut

I feel like I’m in a self-induced crafting/sewing rut. Ugh. When I can’t sleep, or I’m driving the kids around, or cooking dinner, or…. I think of new things to sew and make and I get all excited. Then when it comes time to do it I flake. So many good intentions that I haven’t followed through on this past week. At least three bags that never got made and other little things.

Last night I thought, “That’s it! I’m going to follow through!” And I haven’t. I pulled out the pattern for the seamstress apron that I bought from Linda forever ago. I picked out fabrics and read the instructions. And my brain wasn’t working. I read instructions 11 and 12 about the waistband 4 times each before my brain clicked in.

But the day is still young. Maybe after the boys have lunch I’ll pull out the machine and get cracking. I’ll only have a few hours since Joe and I are taking the boys to the Deschutes County Fair tonight.

I have to thank Wende for putting this link on her blog. It made my morning! I danced in my chair. Jay danced with me.

And I’m totally completely bummed that Sara was voted of So You Think You Can Dance last night. Sara and Sabra are my favorites. So please vote for Sabra. I would not be happy if Lacey won! Vote for Neil too. 🙂

6 Responses to “Rut”


  1. 1 Wende August 3, 2007 at 11:19 am

    I’m kinda in a rut, too. I’ve not been blogging much because I’m swamped with “projects” that aren’t projects I want to do but that need doing. It makes me tired. Hang in there. 😀
    ~~~~
    I’m trying to break out of the rut today. We’ll see. I’ve got the laundry going, dishes done, I feel like I can take some time to sew now. 🙂 I just hope when I sit down I’ll feel motivated to sew.
    Kathy

  2. 2 lera August 3, 2007 at 6:06 pm

    I hate when my mind is consumed with sewing projects, but when I try to sew I can’t. All I can say is “Ruts happen.” 🙂
    ~~~~
    I’ve noticed a cycle of ruts, sewing, ruts, sewing… I guess it’s the “circle of sewing”.
    Kathy

  3. 3 Sadira August 3, 2007 at 9:01 pm

    Oh, it’s always “easy” to think of doing all the things you’re going to do when you’re done with what you are doing (good heavens, does that make sense?) But, then getting them done is another matter! You’ll do it eventually…be gentle with yourself.
    ~~~~
    Yes, makes perfect sense. In fact it made me think of things I “should” work on first but I don’t think I will!
    Kathy

  4. 4 Mirre August 4, 2007 at 1:03 am

    I’m not achieving much right now either, but I try to be relaxed about it and let it go 😉
    Hope you manage to get some sewing done this weekend!
    ~~~~
    I didn’t even THINK about sewing this weekend. It actually was kind of nice. So hopefully today I’ll be able to get some done.
    Kathy

  5. 5 vinyl window ratings September 30, 2014 at 11:11 pm

    This is the right webpage for anyone who really wants to find out about this
    topic. You realize a whole lot its almost tough to argue with you (not that I actually will need to…HaHa).
    You certainly put a brand new spin on a topic which has been discussed for many years.
    Excellent stuff, just great!

  6. 6 window storm shutters October 8, 2014 at 4:13 am

    What’s up everyone, it’s my first pay a visit at this site, and post is truly
    fruitful in favor of me, keep up posting these types of articles or reviews.


Leave a Reply

