Weekend in Review

I have a big old headache and I realize it’s from clenching my teeth. I’m feeling a bit stressed. Joe got a call from the union for a plumbing company in Powell Butte, which is a 15 minute drive as opposed to his current 45 minute drive. But with things we had said before, decisions we had previously made, he said no. And it has stressed me out. Going back to the union means better insurance but other than that I’m completely not impressed with the union.

I need to stop clenching my teeth so on to better, happier topics.

Friday being payday we spoiled the boys and bought TMNT on DVD. After they got ready for bed they sat down on the couch with their popcorn to watch. Sai plugs his ears when he is scared, and Jay copies. So here they are pluggin their ears. 

Watching TMNT

Saturday Joe and I took the boys fishing. We packed a picnic lunch and went to a pond in Redmond, OR. No idea what the pond is called. It’s in an industrial area. The weather was so nice and the boys were so good. First we ate our lunch. Somehow homemade lunches taste better on picnics than at the dinner table. Then the boys went fishing. It was Jay’s first time fishing where he was actually trying. It was really cute.

Sai Fishing

Jay Fishing

Boys Fishing

Yesterday I was put in as the Primary Secretary at church. That’s along with being the Primary Pianist, too. This should be interesting. And it necessitated me making a new bag. I’ve been wanting a new church bag for a while. My old one was stuffed to the gills with coloring books and crayons and my sheet music. I made a bigger and brighter one this morning.

Church Bag 1

Church Bag 2

And now my sewing stuff is put away for the week. We’ve invited some friends over for dinner on Saturday so I put my sewing things away. And I’ve got more cleaning (dusting, yuck, kids’ bathroom, yuck) to do before Saturday. It shouldn’t take me all week, but I just might procrastinate.

5 Responses to “Weekend in Review”


  1. 1 Dena August 13, 2007 at 4:35 pm

    I love the bag! I haven’t been taking mine lately because all I need at church are my scriptures and SWK book. I hope that doesn’t change any time soon.

    It looks like you had a fun weekend even with all the jaw clenching. I do that, too, when I’m stressed or worrying too much. The pics of the boys are cute, love the earplugging.
    ~~~~
    My bag is a lot like the one I made you. The difference is the interior pockets and no exterior pocket. Lucky you not having to take a lot of stuff to church.

    Man, the jaw clenching was bad. I consciously had to stop and then my cheekbone hurt all evening so I thought I might have a tooth problem but it’s gone now.

    The boys sure are silly. Jay used to cover his eyes but he noticed that Sai would plug his ears, so now he copies Sai. And another funny thing… Jay reminds me a lot of Sai. He doesn’t tell me “no” he tells me “note” just like Sai. Remember that?
    -Kathy

  2. 2 lera August 13, 2007 at 4:53 pm

    Sounds like you are going to be one busy mama at church. Do you have a small ward? Are you going to be released as pianist?

    Cute bag, by the way. Very cheery.

    Did you guys enjoy TMNT? I’ve contemplated getting it from Netflix.
    ~~~~
    We have a very small ward. I’ve never been in one this small! And it’s mostly old people. So the young’uns like us get all the callings. So yeah, I’m going to be doing double duty.

    My boys LOVE TMNT. They get out all of their turtle action figures and play along with the movie. So do you like Netflix? We’ve thought about getting it but that’d be just one more thing to pay. Is it cheaper than running to Blockbuster or Hollywood?
    -Kathy

  3. 3 Sadira August 13, 2007 at 7:15 pm

    What a fun weekend! I love the bag…and don’t worry about cleaning, I spent practically the whole weekend here, and it’s not any cleaner than when I started, and now there’s a whole pile of laundry waiting to be folded and put away! ugh…
    ~~~~
    UGH is right! I feel like I always have a load of laundry going or a pile to be folded and put away. My husband says that I “make” laundry. But with two small kids dirty clothes happen! Plus, I tend to spill on myself. 🙂
    -Kathy

  4. 4 Irene August 13, 2007 at 9:08 pm

    Love that picture of the boys on the couch! I can just see mine doing the same thing. Also- great bag. I’ve been wanting to do an inside pocket like that for awhile now, but am always antsy to get the bag done that I don’t take the time. You’ve inspired me yet again!
    ~~~~
    They are silly kids! The pockets were pretty easy. I wasn’t precise in my measuring when I did the pleats. I just made sure it would fit a sippy cup.
    -Kathy

  5. 5 kat August 14, 2007 at 6:14 am

    cute cute photos of the kids. We’re gettting TMNT from Netflix this week. I hope the kids like it 🙂

    Very sweet totebag as well!
    ~~~~
    I hope your kids like it too. I bet William will, at least.
    -Kathy


Leave a Reply

