Table Runner and Kindergarten

Yesterday I was all-consumed with my sewing machine. I spent about 5 hours sewing. I let the boys watch movies while I sewed. (I’m feeling like a bad mom now šŸ˜¦ though.) So what consumed me so? This table runner.

28 August 2007-1

I was inspired by the Tumbling Leaves pattern in the latest Quilts and More magazine. But I didn’t want a wall hanging that I would never hang up. So I figured out what I would need to make a table runner. And I wanted it to look like the color of falling leaves so I used reds, oranges and yellows.

28 August 2007-2

I had a lot of fun putting it together. I even put together bias binding (man, I still need my mom’s help figuring that out because I know I did it wrong) and the back. I just need to machine quilt it.

And now I can because my new sewing machine attachments finally arrived last night–after I put the sewing machine away for the day. So I didn’t get to play with them. I’m planning on playing with them today to figure it all out before I machine quilt the table runner. YAY! So excited!! (Thanks for the b-day present, Nann!!!)

28 August 2007-3

I talked to Sai’s Kindergarten teacher today, Mrs. Strong. We are meeting with her next Tuesday. The meeting is for them to officially meet–he’s met her before because she is his best bud’s aunt. And also so Sai can see the classroom and get acquainted with the school. We’ll also be dropping off his school supplies. YAY!!! He’ll start school on the 10th.

I hope Jay will be OK once Sai goes back to school. It will be so much different since Sai will be gone from 8 to 3. He’s so used to following Sai around all day and playing with his big brother. But I’m sure we will have fun together, just the two of us. We’ll start going to story time again to help us fill out our week. And we’ll go grocery shopping which will be awesome for me since I won’t be dragging two kids around the store.

Oh, and we’ve been practicing getting up and getting ready. Oh My! Yesterday, I didn’t hear the alarm so we woke up at 8:30. This morning I hit snooze once and got up at 7:40. It took about 15 minutes to get both of the boys out of bed! If things don’t get easier I’m going to have to get up before 7 to get Sai to school by 8. AH! It shouldn’t take that long. All he has to do is eat breakfast, brush teeth, wash face, make bed, get dressed. We’ll see how the rest of the week goes.

Sai also got his soccer uniform. It’s so sweet. His colors are maroon and gold. With black shorts and maroon socks. He’s going to look so cool!! We haven’t tried it on yet. I’m saving it for his first game on the 8th.

5 Responses to “Table Runner and Kindergarten”


  1. 1 kat August 28, 2007 at 9:06 am

    your runner came out terrific! You must be happy šŸ™‚
    My kids start school on the 11th so we are hunkering down trying to get back into a schedule too. It’s not easy!
    ~~~~
    I am happy. And excited to finish it.
    It is so not easy getting into a school schedule. Sai’s school even sent a letter suggesting that we work on getting up early for a few weeks so the kids won’t be cranky at school. How funny! That’s what prompted me to make the checklist and start practicing. Good luck to you!
    -Kathy

  2. 2 nikko August 28, 2007 at 10:56 am

    Hi! Your runner turned out so beautiful. I like your colors better than the ones in the magazine. So you use a darning foot for the free-motion quilting? I had no idea (I’m a machine quilting novice) but it makes sense.

    We started school yesterday. Good luck getting up early and getting into a routine! It takes some work.
    ~~~~
    Thanks! Yeah, I wasn’t so hip on the colors in the mag. Yes you can use your darning foot for free-motion. You just have to remember to drop your feed dogs, and remember to raise them again when you are done!

    I hope school is going well for you all!
    -Kathy

  3. 3 lera August 28, 2007 at 5:19 pm

    Cute runner! So you found the magazine, huh?
    ~~~~
    Yup, finally found it.
    -Kathy

  4. 4 Sadira August 29, 2007 at 2:36 pm

    That’s an amazing runner! The colors are just perfect for the next season…YAY fall!!
    ~~~~
    Yes, YAY for fall! It’s my favorite season.
    -Kathy

  5. 5 Wendy September 2, 2007 at 11:37 am

    Hi, I’m your partner for the scrap swap! It’s funny, I just saw this Tumbling Leaves pattern and was thinking I’d like to give it a try (a small version). I love the colors that were used in the second large quilt in the magazine. What sewing machine do you have? Those attachments looks identical to the ones i have for my machine – a Janome.
    ~~~~
    Hi Wendy! I know, the colors in the second picture were what inspired me to make my table runner. I still have to quilt it, though! Well, my sewing machine is a–I’m ashamed to say–Kenmore. When I first bought it about 6 years ago it was what I could afford. It’s done well but I have dreams of something nicer with more options. *sigh* Maybe some day. šŸ™‚ I’m looking forward to our swap!
    -Kathy


Leave a Reply

