Am I Turning Into My Mom???

Growing up the “F” word in our house was fart. We were not allowed to say it. Instead, we said “fluffer”. And I know I have at least one brother-in-law who purposefully taught his kids to say fart just to bug my mom. I never consciously made a decision either way. So yesterday morning Sai says to me something like “That was a stinky fart!” And what do I say back to him? “We don’t say ‘fart’, we say ‘toot’.” AHHHHH!!!! I’m turning into my mom!

I told Joe about this incident and he says that I better stop because he married me, not my mom. And then he kept saying “fart” just to tease me. It’s kind of weird how many things I do that I realize are like my mom. I love my mom a lot so it’s not a bad thing to be like my mom, but it just startles me when I realize that I’ve done something my mom would. Like, I’m starting to really like sewing and quilting. And when I cough I think I sound just like my mom. And my feet are looking more and more like my mom’s. See, I’m turning into my mom.

Well, getting up is getting easier for us. The boys woke up promptly at 7:30 this morning. And our routine took about a half hour. So things are looking good. It’s amazing how much we can get done by 10:00 when we wake up early! I just like sleeping in, though.

And yesterday I tried out my new sewing machine feet. I was nearly giggling out loud because I had so much fun! I made a little Nemo tote for Jay. I did some free-form quilting. It didn’t look great but it was fun! Then I used the walking foot to do the strap and then add the strap to the tote. I’m going to have SEW much fun!

3 Responses to “Am I Turning Into My Mom???”


  1. 1 Dena August 29, 2007 at 9:55 am

    You’re right, there are worse things than turning into Mom. I didn’t catch the sewing bug, but there are things… Like when I’m sitting in Sacrament Meeting I find myself sitting just like I remember Mom sitting. It sometimes freaks me out. As far as the “F” word, it was not a big deal with my kids, except around grandma, they really didn’t say it at home, but always managed to say it at grandma’s house. Probably because she hated it and they new it would embarrass me when they said it.

    I’m glad you’re getting into a routine for school. Weird that it’s over for me and just beginning for you. I remember cooking breakfast with my eyes half closed, but wanting to make sure they didn’t eat cereal every morning (another way I’m like Mom).
    ~~~~
    It’s funny, my kids are starting school and your youngest is going on a mission. CRAZY!
    -Kathy

  2. 2 Sadira August 29, 2007 at 2:38 pm

    Oh, it’s just darned hard not to turn into your mom…but, why is it that we always look at the negative things she did and then get angry at ourselves rather than looking at some of the good we emulate (I mean, they’re in there too right?) And, I’ve always said that when I have kids, I’m gonna’ have to move away from my mom…
    ~~~~
    I never thought about that…usually thinkng about the “bad” things we do like our moms. There are good things that I do like my mom.
    -Kathy

  3. 3 lera August 30, 2007 at 11:35 am

    Growing up we weren’t allowed to say that “f” word either. Neither are my children. (Toot and pass gas are acceptable.)

    I’ve realized lately how much I am like my mother. AND how much Spenser is turning out to be like me. I think it has taken my little girl to make me realize how much of my mother I am.
    ~~~~
    I’ve noticed that each of my boys have little things like me. I can’t imagine what it would be like, though, if I had a girl! She’d probably want her own little sewing machine!!! 🙂
    -Kathy


Leave a Reply

