First Day of School–Updated

I can’t believe this day is here! Sai’s first day of school. All-day kindergarten! All yesterday and this morning I’ve had Nemo’s voice saying “First day of school!” running through my head. Maybe I’m a bit like Marlin, though, reluctant to let go.

I got up first and got his lunch all made and started fixing breakfast. Then I went to get the boys up. Getting Sai up wasn’t so bad. He seemed excited to get up for school. However, Jay didn’t want to get out of bed. I made Sai his favorite breakfast, French Toast. While he was eating Joe called to talk to him. Joe told him to be brave.

After that we were in a rush to brush teeth, wash faces, and get dressed (Sai picked out his clothes for the day). And then he was ready. I had him watch me put his lunch in his lunch bag and then put the lunch bag in his backpack. (I’m hoping that he’ll remember he has a lunch when it’s lunch time!)

Right before we ran out the door I took a picture. Yeah, he decided to stop in front of the laundry basket so it’s not the ideal first day of school picture. And Jay couldn’t not be in the picture too. I guess I could have cropped Jay out but it’s just so cute.

first day of school

I loaded up the boys and took off for school. We live too close for bus service, but too far away for him to walk. The school was crazy. So many cars dropping off kids. I parked and the boys and I walked into school. This school has all the kids meet in the gym grouped by teachers. So we found his teacher and I nearly lost it! I told him good-bye and hugged him (no kisses, didn’t want to embarrass him) and walked away before I started crying. Jay and I went to pay the activities fee and put some money on Sai’s lunch card for just in case days. Then we went to leave and poor Jay started crying. He wanted his Sai. Jay cried all the way home and for about 10 minutes once we got home. And I did OK until Joe called to check on us and then I started crying. Sheesh! I’ve been excited for this day to come and here I am being a boo-hoo baby about it!

I’ll have to come back and update this after Sai gets home from school. But knowing him I’ll ask him what he did today and he’ll say “I don’t know.”

Update:

Sai was very, Very, VERY upset that he didn’t get to ride the school bus. Oh my! Once I got him home and calmed down I let the boys watch a movie. Sai picked out Star Wars. I popped them some popcorn, and now they are vegging out.

After School-1

After School-2

When I asked Sai what he did at school he said “I don’t know.” I knew it! After asking him more questions he said that they went to the computer lab and played games. And he had lunch. And he had recess. That’s about all I got out of him. He did come home with a couple of art projects that he did at school.

3 Responses to “First Day of School–Updated”


  1. 1 Nanno September 10, 2007 at 4:29 pm

    One down and 177 or so to go! Jay will get better, and then pout the days Sai is home. Glad you made it through. Crazy weekend but lots of fun – especially fabric shopping.

    Loved the soccer pix – of both boys. They have grown so much in just a couple of months.

    In a couple of years Sai will be glad he’s NOT riding the bus.
    ~~~~
    I’m jealous about the fabric shopping. Hope it wasn’t too hot for you in St. George.

    The boys are growing like crazy. It’s weird to see the changes that happen in just a few months.
    -Kathy

  2. 2 kat September 10, 2007 at 4:36 pm

    The boys looks sooo cute!
    Enjoy the time with Jay 🙂
    ~~~~
    I will enjoy the time with Jay. We just need to figure out a new routine for us. It’s kind of strange. Yesterday we did a whole lot of nothing! And cleaned the bathroom. 🙂
    -Kathy

  3. 3 sadira September 11, 2007 at 6:50 pm

    The boys are too cute…and you were very brave! It must be so hard dropping your little one off for the very first time…good job mom! I love the way he looked totally wiped out when he came home…I’ll bet he had a great time!
    ~~~~
    It was hard dropping him off for the first time. But he is loving it! And Jay and I are trying to figure out what to do with each other now that it’s just the two of us.
    -Kathy


Leave a Reply

