That Mom

Am I turning into Thatmom? So I drop off Sai every day for school. Usually I throw on some pants and a t-shirt, brush my hair and go. Today was not that day. I couldn’t drag Sai out of bed. Finally 10 minutes before we had to leave he got out of bed. I rushed to get him dressed and eating his breakfast. That only left me a few minutes to get ready. So I threw on my sweats, a hoodie, no bra (NO BRA!!!), and took off. I’m turning into Thatmom!! There were other moms in sweats but they looked all cute and stuff. I looked like something a cat might drag in. And then there are the moms all dressed up and looking perfect. Sorry, so not me. I’m not getting myself up super early to dress up to take Sai to school.

So I came home, took a shower–ahhh… hot water…–got dressed. I’m feeling better but I still can’t believe I dropped Sai off looking like that! And now I’ve got an hour to dry my hair and take Jay to story time. I’m in need of new books to read so I’m very excited to be heading to the library.

And talking of excitement. I’m eagerly awaiting Tuesday. I’m meeting up with Denise. I’m so very excited to meet her! And guess where we are meeting–TARGET! She’s a woman after my own heart.

11 Responses to “That Mom”


  1. 1 Nann September 13, 2007 at 3:25 pm

    You look cute without makeup AND in sweats! And who cares about no bras. By the end of a month or two there will be more and more mom’s just glad to make it to the school on time. (I have lots of NB (no bra) days working at home alone…)
    ~~~~
    Well, it’s not taking as along as a month or two. Today one of the always-dressed-up-moms was looking more normal like the rest of us. And I felt better today because I had on jeans, t-shirt, sweater, and bra. 🙂 I don’t blame you for having NB days when you are home alone. Has the UPS man caught you like that, though? 😀 Haa haa haa!!!
    -Kathy

  2. 2 Irene September 13, 2007 at 7:18 pm

    NO BRA?! You are funny. I started out looking cute, but today went to drop off Augie in a stained t-shirt, sweats and hair not even brushed. Yeah, it was that kind-of day for us too. Augie even asked why he was the only one who HAD to go to school. Oh that unfairness of it all…
    ~~~~
    Oh Irene! You are sounding like me! Crazy hair and some clothes you just threw on! Poor Augie. Hope he realizes just how much fun he is actually having at school learning tons of stuff.
    -Kathy

  3. 3 Nanno September 14, 2007 at 10:39 am

    The UPS man has even seen me in my nightie! Another tech was sending my packages “early” delivery and he was here BEFORE 8 am!! “YIKES” Now we are back to regular AM deliveries – at least now he will drop and go, especially the days he made three deliveries.
    ~~~~
    Oh man! That’s funny. It’s kind of like me panicking on Monday mornings when I hear the garbage truck so I run out in my PJs to see if we put the garbage out. And of course Joe has usually put it out so my panic is for naught.
    -Kathy

  4. 4 lera September 14, 2007 at 12:38 pm

    When I quit my job to be a stay-at-home mom, I decided I would *never* leave the house looking like a mess. BIG-LOL

    Well, I can’t say that really happened. Although I usually look presentable, there have been times I’ve run into our local grocery store in my PJ bottoms. Or to the post office.

    (Don’t feel bad or compare yourself to the other moms.)
    ~~~~
    That’s funny! When I first quit to be a stay home mom two years ago I think I was a bit depressed. Some days I would stay in my PJs until it was time for Joe to come home. I’m happy to say that I haven’t done that in a long time.

    I try not to compare myself to the other moms but I don’t want Sai to ever be embarrassed of me. But I’m guessing that won’t happen anytime soon because when I drop him off he is the first one to hug and say “love you.”
    -Kathy

  5. 5 jmarz September 14, 2007 at 4:58 pm

    I would think that you and all of the “bloggie” friends would learn from “What Not to Wear”. Everyone probable watches the show, but does anyone listen to it? Stacy says you can drop off the kids and look good to.
    ~~~~
    Stacy obviously does not have small children. 🙂 And she would get after me for not supporting my “girls”. 😀
    -Kathy

  6. 6 kat September 17, 2007 at 9:51 am

    Over the years I have realized the best way to always “look” presentable, is to take a shower the minute I get up and before I go downstairs. This way I’m at least clean!

    I also pick out the kids clothes and MY clothes the night before. Seriously, if I don’t do this, my morning is crazy. (oh, and a lot of times it’s just my yoga pants and a cute top… no one but the crazy mummies get dressed up for morning drop off!)
    ~~~~
    I’ve thought about that. But I don’t want to be going out with wet hair! And I don’t want to get up any earlier. I’m L-A-Z-Y. I shower after I drop him off. But today Mr. I’m-Moving-Slower-Than-Cold-Tar took a half hour to eat breakfast. We were in such a rush to get out the door I just dropped him off and watched him walk into the school. He can do it on his own so I think I might just be dropping him off from now on instead of walking him into the school. I do have to go in and pick him up, though. His teacher keeps him in the lobby until I come in and get him.

    I do the clothes thing too, though. I started doing it while I worked because I was always rushed in the morning. It’s nice to not have to think about what to wear in the mornings.
    -Kathy

  7. 7 sadira September 17, 2007 at 2:42 pm

    eh…so you look like THAT mom…if it bothers you, you’ll probably have to do something about it…until then, who cares? You should have seen the psychedelic sweat-suit I put on to walk this morning…I think I woke a few people up on their way to work (good ole’ Victorias Secret)
    ~~~~
    I need to see this psychedelic sweat-suit! I think the bra-less thing is what bothered me the most. But I was in a rush and I was going to come home and shower anyway. I think I’m over it now.
    -Kathy

  8. 8 Sandy September 18, 2007 at 6:55 am

    Yeah… I think I am THAT mom. I did the same thing yesterday… only it was my 25 yr old husband… At least you feed yours breakfast. 🙂
    ~~~~
    Oh Sandy! You’re so funny. If Adam can’t get up and get his own breakfast than he needs to work on that! 🙂
    -Kathy

  9. 9 Denise September 18, 2007 at 1:01 pm

    Kathy,
    I had such a great time with you today! I never get a chance to just sit and chat with an adult. And little Jay, what a doll! And he was such a good boy. Thanks for coming all the way to Bend. I do not know why I for got you are in Prineville. We could have met in Redmond. Maybe next time?????

    Keep in touch! Get crackin’ on those little purses, Lady!

    Denise
    ~~~~
    Denise I had so much fun meeting up with you! We definitely have to do it again. Thanks for spending at least an hour out of your day to sit and talk with Jay and me!
    -Kathy

  10. 10 jmarz September 19, 2007 at 9:15 pm

    All this talk about being rushed in the morning, because someone couldn’t get out of bed on time and get some breakfast reminds me of Sai’s mom. I remember the day I told you that I wasn’t going to wake you up in the morning anymore, BECAUSE YOU WOULDN’T GET OUT OF BED WHEN I WOKE YOU!!! Like mother, like son. I told you he has your personality. Hahahahaha.

  11. 11 LEPERE September 25, 2014 at 2:15 am

    I just much like the beneficial facts you offer for a reports. We’ll bookmark your blog site and also take a look at once more in this article regularly.. hr services I’m relatively specific I will be well informed a great deal of fresh products appropriate listed here! All the best . for the!


Leave a Reply

