Catching Up

I can’t believe I’ve gone so long without a post. So much seems to have been happening lately, but on the other hand it feels like not much is going on.

Outside today

Big news: I quit my job. I lasted 4 whole weeks. I feel like such a wimp! But it took a big emotional toll on the family and a physical toll on me. I would work late, get home even later. Then get up early the next day to get Sai ready for school. Plus I had a wee bit of a bad attitude because I felt that I had extremely poor training and wasn’t prepared to do my actual job. So yay! I’m home now. I think Sai had the hardest time with me working. He went from seeing me all day every day to seeing me for two hours after school before I took off for work. And he would get upset because I couldn’t go to his soccer games. So I quit. I feel much less stressed.

Mom's Granola

I’ve been making granola today. Mom’s recipe. Mmmm…

And then Joe gave us a scare Sunday. He was feeling new pains in his chest and ended up calling 911 and going to the hospital. That was a long night! But it wasn’t his heart. He’s going to have a nuclear stress test on Monday and then I think he’ll meet with his doc to figure out what is going on. My guess is it might be his meds. But we’ll see. Poor Sai wasn’t yet in bed so he got to see his dad taken away by the EMTs. And one of the EMTs was an EMT that took care of Joe when he had his heart attack. My friend April came over to sit with my kids while I went to the hospital. She is a life saver. She’s 39 weeks pregnant and spent a few hours on my couch. I can’t repay her enough.

Spider guys

The boys are excited for Halloween. I had good intentions of making their costumes. But Sai decided he wanted to be a Transformer and, naturally, Jay wants to be the same as his brother. I couldn’t find a sewing pattern for Transformers so that idea was nixed. Then they said they wanted to be pirates. I found patterns but before I bought anything we went to the store and they saw Spiderman costumes and that’s what we got. Sai loves to put it on. Saturday the boys dressed up in them then we walked to April & Jared’s to show them. But they weren’t home.

My parents are headed off to Australia tomorrow. They’ll be gone for almost a month. A month without talking to my mom? This will be interesting. And it’s not our turn for bad luck/bad news. Two years ago when Mom & Dad went to Eastern Europe and Russia Joe and I decided to move to Oregon. Last year when they went to China my brother Bryan ripped his esophogus and my sister Jenny had Bell’s Palsy. Then this last spring when they went on a cruise of the Panama Canal Joe had his heart attack. So see, it’s not our turn for bad luck while my parents are out of communication. I’m hoping everyone in the family will be safe during this next month.

And yesterday was Joe’s birthday. Now he is 32 like me. We had a mellow day. Joe worked. Then we all went to Sai’s soccer game and out to pizza. We came home to the driveway decorated. Jared & April stopped by but we weren’t home so they left a big huge birthday message all over the driveway using sidewalk chalk. It’s quite funny, really. So happy birthday Joe! I think I’ll count each birthday, each holiday, each precious day and hold them dear. I love you!!!

Eric

And I’ll end with sending Good Luck messages to my nephew Eric and his family. Eric entered the MTC today and is serving a mission for our church in Georgia. So good luck, Eric. And good luck to my sister Dena who will soon be an emptynester.

3 Responses to “Catching Up”


  1. 1 sadira September 26, 2007 at 1:21 pm

    Well, no wonder why you haven’t posted…having a job and a family on top of all that takes it’s toll on free time doesn’t it? I’m glad you know your limits though, and are able to stay home and feel good about it (at least, I hope you do) The granola does look wonderful though…perfect for the fall…

  2. 2 Nanno September 26, 2007 at 3:18 pm

    Here is the description of the nuclear stress test.

    Stress is induced with the standard treadmill exercise test or pharmacologically with the infusion of a vasodilator, if the test is to be done at stress conditions. The patient receives an intravenous injection of a radionuclide, usually thallium or technetium-99m, which will localize only in nonischemic (non damaged)tissue. Images of the heart are scanned immediately with a gamma camera that detects the radiation in the heart tissue to identify areas of infarction (or blockage).

    We all hope it goes well and no new damage.

    Actually you left out that one sister has bought new shiny red vehicles when the folks have been gone as well.

  3. 3 lera September 28, 2007 at 6:23 pm

    Wow, girl, you’ve been busy.

    Happy birthday to Joe. I’m happy it wasn’t his heart. I hope they can find out what is wrong and fix him.

    Congratulations to your nephew, Eric. I wish him good luck.

    Your boys are darling in their costumes.


Leave a Reply

