Terrible Twos

I think we are in the midst of the freakishly awful terrible twos around here. I’m being oh so serious. My cute little boy Jay has decided to turn into a terror. He’s not a terror all the time. He just has at least one huge meltdown a day. Some days, like yesterday, he has two of these meltdowns.

I’m at a loss. I’m not sure what to do. Sai didn’t have the terrible twos. He had the terrible threes. And they weren’t as bad as Jay’s terrible twos.

Jay is cute and sweet and I love him. But he’s driving me batty! He had has tantrum at church and didn’t even want me. Fine. We came home and put him down for a nap. A too long nap. Bedtime on school nights is 8:00 or 8:30 at the latest. He wouldn’t go to sleep when Sai did. I figured it was because he had a long nap and didn’t get up until 4:30. So that’s fine. But Joe and I were ready for bed and Jay threw big huge fit number 2. I’m really surprised he didn’t wake Sai with his carrying on. I gave up and went and laid in bed. Joe somehow had the magic touch and got him to bed but it took a while. So we didn’t get to sleep until 11:00!!! ARGH!

So far no meltdown today. But there are still many hours to go until bedtime.

On another note, I feel like I’ve arrived in the blog world. The lovely Ms. Sadira tagged me on her blog. I’m honored. However, I’m a bad blogger. The tag is about good things to do when blogging. And frankly, I have nothing to add to the list (because I’m a bad blogger). There’s stuff on that list that I know I should do but I don’t. For instance “Always reply to your comments.” I would LOVE to do that. But WordPress has stopped e-mailing me when I get new comments. And I don’t always take the time to reply. So thank you Sadira, but I’m not worthy!!!

3 Responses to “Terrible Twos”


  1. 1 lera October 1, 2007 at 6:09 pm

    Some days are hairy with two-year-olds. Geesh! I wish I could offer some advice, but I’m still trying to figure it out myself.

  2. 2 brandy October 2, 2007 at 5:56 am

    I think you’re a great blogger! I love reading your posts and you certainly ARE worthy!

    Yep, my 2 yr old is definitely asserting her opinions too. They’re hard to deal with sometimes because they are freaking out and that seems to be the only way they know how to handle it. There’s no reasoning with them for sure! Sorry to hear Jay is giving you a hard time. Hang in there and enjoy the sweet moments when you can!

  3. 3 sadira October 3, 2007 at 5:46 pm

    Good heavens…You are certainly worthy!!! You are a wonderful blogger, and whenever you have the time to post, I enjoy every every moment…silly girl! No pressure on the tagging either…

    Good luck with the 2-year-old. I’ve often wished that the “ignore” button on the cell phone worked with people too (tee-hee!)
    ~~~~
    Oh gosh! I needed that! Laughed at the “ignore” button. Would so love that. Or mute, a mute button would be good. Especially on the older brother. He talks a lot. 🙂
    (See, trying to be better about my comments.)
    -Kathy


Leave a Reply

