It’s Official

Yup, it’s official. I am pregnant. I never thought I would utter those words again! Joe and I had only ever planned on having two kids. So this was a might bit of a surprise.

It’s been crazy. I just knew I was pregnant before I was even late. So I took the home test on the day I should have started and there it was. Two lines. Luckily Joe has been very supportive. He kept reassuring me that we could do it and we’d be OK. I don’t know what I would have done without his reassurance.

Our families were very happy when we told them.Β Which is a good thing. I think they just love babies and want more. This will be the 22nd grandchild for my parents and the 4th for Joe’s parents. But it’s kind of hard for me when I have nieces and nephews with their own children who are older than some of mine–my parents have 5 great grandchildren!Β 

I wanted to wait to tell our kids but they would have known something was up just from listening to our conversations. So we told them. Sai was not happy. He yelled that he didn’t want another brother or sister. The next day he asked me if it meant that I needed a new husband. Huh??? The way his mind thinks! And now he’s OK with it and is convinced that it is a baby sister. My gut reaction is that it’s another boy. But a girl would be nice. Jay kind of gets it. My friend April is very pregnant (or not–she’s currently in labor and I’m just waiting to hear from her) and so he knows her baby is in her tummy. So I told him that I have a baby in my tummy. I think it’s clicking because he told me today that I had a baby in my tummy (but he pointed to my chest when he said it).

Today I had that first appointment with my doctor. Dr. Cleveland. He’s a young guy. He has a full on beard and I think it is in an attempt to make him look older. He kind of looks like Topher Gracewith darker hair and a full beard and glasses. But he was so nice and he took his time and answered questions and seemed very thorough. It’s hospital policy, here in our little town, that once you’ve had a c-section that’s what you’ll have again. And Dr. Cleveland doesn’t do the actual c-section. He’ll refer me to a surgeon but will be there to assist. And my official due date is May 1st. But I’m pretty sure we’ll probably end up scheduling it for the end of April.

So anyway, there’s my big news. Now you know my excuse for being a super lazy blogger!

11 Responses to “It’s Official”


  1. 1 Jason October 4, 2007 at 12:36 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS!
    ~~~~
    Thanks Jason! I think we’re a bit crazy but oh well.
    -Kathy

  2. 2 Nanno October 4, 2007 at 12:40 pm

    yup! Your family loves babies and just wishes there were not so many miles between us. But we ARE happy for you!
    ~~~~
    Oh thanks! We’re happy too. It’s going to be a big adjustment for us, though. πŸ™‚
    -Kathy

  3. 3 Dena October 4, 2007 at 1:28 pm

    I love Sai’s logic. Two kids per husband? Anyway, I think three is a pretty great number. It is kind of weird that you’ll have a child younger than the children of your nieces and nephew. BTW I hope things go well with April, let us know how she’s doing.
    ~~~~
    Yeah, my child is younger than your grandkids!!! Haven’t heard from April yet. Kind of worried but understand that she has family to think of first. I’m just glad her parents showed up so I didn’t have to have her dog sleep over last night. πŸ™‚
    -Kathy

  4. 4 sadira October 4, 2007 at 2:03 pm

    Congratulations!!! I think this is the perfect excuse for being tired and “lazy” although, I doubt you are lazy at all…I think an extra husband would be quite handy actually…then you could really rest and get caught up on all of your sewing!
    ~~~~
    Yup. Perfect excuse. I’m going to milk it! πŸ™‚ Don’t know about an extra husband, though. More mouths to cook for, etc. πŸ™‚
    -Kathy

  5. 5 kat October 4, 2007 at 2:07 pm

    Congratulations Kathy!
    I’m so happy for you and your family.
    take care of yourself.
    I doubt very much anyone would call you lazy!
    ~~~~
    Thanks Kristen! I will take care.
    -Kathy

  6. 6 jmarz October 4, 2007 at 7:31 pm

    congratulations. I bet your family will do well with three kids. If I had three kids I would probably go nuts.
    ~~~~
    Huh? This comment was from you, Joe, right? It has your email and URL all over it so you are saying you’re going to go nuts? Great. Now you tell me. πŸ˜‰
    -Kathy

  7. 7 brandy October 5, 2007 at 4:12 am

    Congrats! Sai will come around. Just let him get used to the idea and then he’ll be excited. So glad that your husband is being so supportive since it was “surprise”! I hope you have a great day!
    ~~~~
    thanks Brandy!
    -Kathy

  8. 8 Jared & Holly October 5, 2007 at 7:05 am

    Joe & Kathy,

    We are really excited for you guys! Having three kids is fun, and I’m sure the other kids will be more excited when they actually see the baby. We could hardly keep Parker away from Lizzie when she was born, he loved her so much! Hope you’ll get feeling better soon, Kathy. Take it easy.
    ~~~~
    Thanks guys! Now we’ll know how you guys feel with three kids. I’m still fighting the mini-van, though. I’m sure we can stuff three car seats in the back of the truck. πŸ™‚
    -Kathy

  9. 9 Linda October 5, 2007 at 8:52 pm

    Congratulation! I heard it through the grapevine, but was not sure to put it in the Newsletter but after reading your blog now I can share this info with the Marzan family in Calfornia. How exciting !!!
    ~~~~
    Thanks Linda! We’re getting more and more excited. πŸ™‚
    -Kathy

  10. 10 nikko October 6, 2007 at 6:27 pm

    Congratulations! Three boys are so much fun. I can’t wait to find out what you are having!
    ~~~~
    Thanks! And me too! Once I know what it is it’ll be much easier to prepare for. I’m just not a generic yellow/green lover. So sometime around Christmas I should know.
    -Kathy

  11. 11 Happy Zombie October 10, 2007 at 8:09 am

    Oh Kathy… How exciting! I’m so happy for you. I think it’s a boy and your family will be the Half-A-Brady Bunch.
    xo,
    Monica
    ~~~~
    Oh jeez! Half the Brady Bunch. GAH!!! I’m all ready the minority. πŸ™‚
    -Kathy


Leave a Reply

