Bounce

We were running a little late getting Sai to school. I’ve been trying the timer thing–telling Sai when the timer goes off he has to be done with this task so we can move on, etc. But it’s not working so well. I had Jay all secured in his car seat and had to run back in the house and get Sai. When we got to school Jay was being slow and Sai was running up ahead of us.

Sai’s school has three doors but you can only enter through the middle one. On both sides of the doors are big plate glass windows. The school tries to keep things in front of the windows in the lobby but the chairs got moved around. Sai ran full speed into the window. Bounced off and landed on his back! OH MY GOSH!! It made a pretty loud thud. I ran to him and two ladies from the office ran out to him as well. He was a bit stunned and already had a mark on his forehead. We took him into the office and got ice for his head, both front and back. They checked his eyes for dialation. He was dialating OK but was still kind of out of it. We sat there for a while talking making sure he felt OK, no head ache or stomach ache. I knew he was feeling OK when he said that after school he wanted to go home and look in the mirror to see the bruise and then he burped. Yeah, that’s my boy. He’s feeling all right. We had his teacher come to the office and get him and she said she would watch him and make sure he was OK. I haven’t been called yet so I’m sure he’s doing fine.

I’m just glad he bounced and didn’t go through the glass. (Anyone else see Premonition? I had visions of him going through the glass.)

5 Responses to “Bounce”


  1. 1 nikko October 9, 2007 at 12:54 pm

    Hope he’s alright!
    ~~~~
    He’s good. I tried taking a picture of his bruise and it really isn’t that bad–you couldn’t see it in the picture. Which is surprising considering how hard he hit.
    -Kathy

  2. 2 Nanno October 9, 2007 at 2:13 pm

    Poor Sai! Let’s hope he did not get hurt beyond a good goose egg. It’s probably one of those scenes you slo-mo through your memory and just breath a sigh of relief he is okay. How did Jay do during all of this? The good thing – you weren’t 8-9 months pregnant trying to pick him up and check him. I hope his back is okay too.

    Another reason there ought to be an easier way than getting up in the morning.
    ~~~~
    His bruise isn’t even that bad any more. And thank goodness I wasn’t hugely pregnant. Luckily he was able to walk and I just had to help guide him since he was a little dazed. When I went to pick him up they had put up a huge poster on that window to hopefully prevent another incident.
    -Kathy

  3. 3 sadira October 11, 2007 at 3:00 pm

    Poor guy! I hope he’s OK…of course if he burped it’s probably a good sign right?
    ~~~~
    Yeah it’s a good sign. And a sign that he is so my kid! He has learned those slovenly ways from me. πŸ™‚ He has injured his poor head again though. Last night when we went with my husband to his cardiac rehab. Boy oh boy. Looks like he was on the wrong end of a fight. He had his hands in his pockets and tripped on the sidewalk. He couldn’t get his hands out to break his fall so his face is all scratched up. Poor guy has had quite the week!
    -Kathy

  4. 4 Monica October 12, 2007 at 7:50 am

    oh dear! I’ve done that. And it’s much more embarassing and painful when you’re an adult.

    I can still remember the noise my head made against the glass….
    ~~~~
    I can still see him doing it so now I’m picturing you in his place. Whew! That would be embarassing! πŸ™‚ His head made quite the “bong” on the window.
    -Kathy


  1. 1 Is It a Good Thing?? « Mommie Marzie Trackback on October 15, 2007 at 3:59 pm

Leave a Reply

