Week in Review

It’s been a busy week around here. Sai only had 2 1/2 days of school this week. So he was home for 2 1/2 days. Wow.

Wednesday, as I was nodding off on the couch, Sai reminded me that I said they could paint their pumpkins. The boys had a lot of fun. It was funny because they would just go over and over and over the same spots. And they would water down their paint. So they ended up a gray-ish watery color. But hey, they had fun. Here are some of my favorite pictures from the day. You can see the rest of them on my flickr page. (And don’t get me started on flickr. They sucker you in with a free account and then you hit your limit on pictures and sets. I guess the Pro account isn’t that much but it is when you are on a tight budget.)

Painting pumpkins 12

Painting pumpkins 18

I feel like we were busy all week but when I’m pressed to think about what else we did I draw a blank. There was the all important purchase of the Transformers movie. And Joe making his delicious banana muffins (OK, so the recipe is actually from here, but they are REALLY good). Jay had to lick the beater. Silly boy.

Jay Banana Muffins

Friday night we had an EQ social. Only five families showed up. But we had a lot of fun. We had a bonfire and hot-dogs and hot chocolate and smores. It was cold but the fire kept us nice and warm. It was fun just to get out and talk. By the time we got home we smelled pretty funky, though. We all had to have showers because I didn’t want our beds to smell.

And now the weekend is over and it’s time to start all over again. Hope this week is a good one.

3 Responses to “Week in Review”


  1. 1 nikko October 22, 2007 at 11:33 am

    Fires are so fun, but the smell… Ai yi yi! Glad you and your boys are keeping so busy. :o)
    ~~~~
    I know, fun but smelly! I’m just glad it kept us warm! That alone was worth the stink.
    -Kathy

  2. 2 kat October 22, 2007 at 1:35 pm

    At my last bookclub meeting, someone had their outdoor stove/firepit going. It was so nice and toasty. and we sat outside, drank wine and reviewed our book. When I got home though I stank! I had to leave my clothes in the laundry room and take a quick shower. (this was at 12 midnight!)

    Never thought about painting pumpkins! What a great idea. The boys look so cute and look like they had a fun time. They paint just like my kids 🙂 Hope you are feeling well!
    ~~~~
    It’s fun to paint them. But last year I realized that I need to prime the pumpkins first so the paint won’t peel off. But did I take the time to prime them this year? No! I figure painting them is a little less dangerous than giving them sharp implements to carve with.
    -Kathy

  3. 3 sadira October 23, 2007 at 2:27 pm

    Love the idea of painting your pumpkins! I love the seeds too much to not carve one though…
    ~~~~
    Oh I know. I bought a pumpkin for me just for the seeds. 🙂
    -Kathy


Leave a Reply

