100% Fier Free

Fier = Pacifier

When Sai was a baby he liked his pacifier. Until I started supplementing him with formula. (I seem to not be good at nursing.) Once he started getting full he stopped the pacifier.

Jay, on the other hand, LOVES his Fier. And I was the enabler. I kept saying that he needed it for comfort.ย So at the age of 2 we cut it back to nap time and bed time. And now we have cut it out completely. And why did it take so long? Because I was dreading his behavior, which I fully admit is all my fault because I was the enabler.

Wednesday night was night #1 without the fier. That was the night from hell! Jay, Joe and I didn’t get much sleep. But Sai slept through it all. And everything I’ve read about helping your child quite the pacifier said to give them something else for comfort, like a lovey. Tried that. But he wanted me, not his puppy. Every night since he says “Mom, feep with me.” I want to sleep in my own bed, but in the middle of the night I concede and end up in his bed with him. Sunday morning, though, he kicked me out, literally, and told me “Feep inย  your bed.” So yeah, not getting much sleep around here.

And Jay seems to have night terrors now that the fier is gone. He wakes up screaming and nothing Joe and I do helps until he wakes himself up. It’s not fun.

Any advice? After this experience I keep thinking of things that I’ll do different with the next one. No fier dependence!!

5 Responses to “100% Fier Free”


  1. 1 Nanno October 23, 2007 at 6:43 am

    Sorry it is so painful. Having so little experience in this area I can just feel sorry for the sleepless nights. Maybe you can sneak a nap with him in the day?? As for night terrors, hopefully they go away, and soon!
    ~~~~
    The first few days were the worst. He didn’t even ask for his fier yesterday. And last night was scream-free. Perhaps we have finally turned the corner! I think I can throw the fier away now so I won’t ever be tempted to give it to him.
    -Kathy

  2. 2 kat October 23, 2007 at 7:26 am

    sorry I can’t be helpful.
    Neither of my kids took to the pacifier.
    I guess it’s like anything, just stick with it, and give it time ~
    Before you know it, he’s over it ๐Ÿ™‚
    Good luck!
    ~~~~
    Lucky you! I NEVER thought I would have the pacifier kid and I did!!! But it is getting better. So thanks!
    -Kathy

  3. 3 Irene October 23, 2007 at 7:43 am

    All I have to say is that Eddie is 3 1/2 and STILL has his (we call the pacifier kiki), but we try and contain it to sleeping. (Although it comes out often!) Augie, my 5 year old, sucks his thumb still so we feel it isn’t fair to make Eddie give up sucking while letting Augie continue. I think we’ll try to wean them both off their (bad?) habits this summer, but I can’t imagine doing it before then. They can probably do it, but it ME that can’t handle them! Am I terrible…?
    ~~~~
    AHA! I’m not the only enabler. ๐Ÿ™‚ I see your logic. And the thought of forcing them to stop is so hard. The reality probably wasn’t as bad as I was expecting, but it wasn’t easy. Joe wanted to get him off the fier. But it was his doctor that pushed me saying that we could be causing deformities in his mouth. WHAT??? Yeah. Good luck to you when you decide to do it!
    -Kathy

  4. 4 sadira October 23, 2007 at 2:26 pm

    Oh, my sister had her pacer forever it seemed like…my mom just let her grow out of the habit on her own…she did.
    ~~~~
    Don’t know if Jay would ever grow out of it on his own. If he would have had his way he would have that thing in his mouth 24/7. He would often tell me he was tired so he could lay on his bed with his fier. And then not fall asleep. He’s a turkey.
    -Kathy

  5. 5 mindyme October 23, 2007 at 6:02 pm

    It could definitely be worse. Jeron’s Soren still has his (lolo) and he turns 3 in December. We have a campaign going where we all yell, ‘No lolo, no baba (bottles), and pee in the potty’. Makes for a fun Sunday at their house. He yells along with us, but then goes and finds lolo. Maddie had night terrors for years. It was horrible! She grew out of them when she was around 8. Bad news I know. Hang in there.
    ~~~~
    Poor Soren! All you meanies ganging up on him! I don’t remember you telling me about Maddie’s night terrors before. Sheesh! We’ve been friends for how many years? ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t know now if they really were night terrors. He did it for a few nights but not for the last two nights. He does wake up and scream “Mom!” until I drag myself out of bed. Then of course it is “feep me”. The little turkey!
    -Kathy


Leave a Reply

