More Than Meets the Eye

Sai wanted me to carve my pumpkin last night. So the two of us sat down at the table to draw pumpkin faces, and Sai does a good job at that. Joe made a suggestion so we followed his suggestion. Can you tell what it is?

Autobot pumpkin

You can see the real thing here. I had to make some changes to get it onto my not very big pumpkin. Connect things here, omit lines there. But on the whole I think it looks great. The boys loved it.

Today is the big field trip day. It usually takes a few minutes for me to get Sai out of bed. But this morning I said “It’s field trip day!” And he jumped out of bed. He got dressed fast, ate breakfast fast. He was excited. But I couldn’t get him to go potty before we left for school. Hope he doesn’t have an accident! And he kept bugging me about making a lunch–I make him one most every day! We’ll see what he says when he gets home. Tomorrow is the big Halloween party. He gets to take his costume to school and wear it for the last hour while they have a party. I’ve got cookies ready to go, store bought, of course.Β 

And Jay is being spoiled today. I put a movie on so I could shower and catch up on the computer. Now I better get my rear in gear and get things done around the house. But maybe not until after lunch. πŸ™‚

5 Responses to “More Than Meets the Eye”


  1. 1 nikko October 30, 2007 at 12:19 pm

    Very cool. We carved pumpkins last night, too! Although we went the simple route this year and just did plain ol’ jack o lantern faces.

    Glad I’m not the only one who resorts to the tv to get things done during the day. :o)
    ~~~~
    I think lots of moms resort to it but some just to admit it! πŸ™‚ Hope your jack-o-lanterns turned out!
    -Kathy

  2. 2 Jason October 30, 2007 at 12:49 pm

    That is hands down the coolest pumpkin I’ve seen this year!

    So Kathy, you are about the only person *I* know who might even appreciate this… so I am actually SEWING Emmalee’s Halloween costume this year. I cut out my first pattern (ever) last night. I should be able to finish it up tonight. I’ll have to email you some pictures if/when it turns out.
    ~~~~
    Thanks Jason. Sorry, but I laughed when I read that you are sewing Emmalee’s costume. But that’s awesome! I hope it turns out and you’ll definitely have to send some pictures. Hope she realizes how cool her dad is!
    -Kathy

  3. 3 kat October 30, 2007 at 1:50 pm

    You did a great job! It looks just like the photo… but i’m sorry I don’t know what it’s from!

    We’ll carve our pumpkins tomorrow πŸ™‚
    ~~~~
    It’s the Autobot (good guy) symbol from Transformers. I live with a bunch of Transformer geeks in this house. πŸ™‚
    Good luck with your pumpkins!
    -Kathy

  4. 4 sadira October 30, 2007 at 1:56 pm

    The pumpkins look really great, and you guys did an amazing job! Where was the field trip to? Did I miss that?
    ~~~~
    Thanks! The boys watched and I did all the hard work. But then, I don’t trust a 5-y-o and a 2-y-o with knives!

    Sai had a field trip to a pumpkin patch with his class. Boy was he excited and he had fun. They ate lunch at the patch and went on a hay ride and picked out pumpkins. He was a bit dirty when he came home, but that’s to be expected.
    -Kathy

  5. 5 Tia Angela November 1, 2007 at 8:11 am

    looks really great It looks like its from the Power Ranger.
    ~~~~
    It kind of does look like Power Ranger-ish. I’m surprised Sai didn’t mention that.
    -Kathy


Leave a Reply

