Time With My Parents

I took a nice little blogging break while my parents were in town. And then over the weekend, too. But now I have 1104 posts backed up on Bloglines. I don’t think I’ll be checking them all out.

So the time with my parents was really good! I was so excited when they showed up. My mom cried but I didn’t–saved that for when they left! Jay was really good. He wasn’t shy like he has been all the other times we’ve had visitors or have been visiting. He kept saying “Grandpa, look!” and showing my parents books and toys. Then my parents went with me to pick up Sai. I think he was excited to see his grandparents.

Tuesday we went fabric shopping. First we went out to Sisters to the Stitchin’ Post. I picked out fat quarters and my mom made me this baby blanket. She’s left it for me to finish. But my dad made me quilt stands and boards so I can hand quilt this one pretty easily. (I hope)

bright baby blanket

We also went to a fabric store in Redmond. I’d driven by the store so many times and had never stopped. Frankly, it looks a little questionable from the outside. But they had some cute stuff on the inside.

Wednesday we went to the quilt store here in my town. We had left Jay home with my dad because we were only going to be gone for a minute and we weren’t going to spend a lot of money. An hour later I called my dad to have him come over because my mom was spending more money than she took with her to the store. It was funny!

Wednesday and Thursday my mom and I sewed. I didn’t do as much as I should have. But, my back started hurting every time I sat down to sew. And then Thursday I just didn’t feel good. Here was our sewing set up for those days. That’s my mom in the background standing at the counter cutting some fabric.

2 sewing machines

My parents left Friday morning. They left late enough to say good-bye to the boys. And I cried. All day little things would set me off! My sister Tracy called and I was tearing up and trying not to cry to her on the phone. When Joe got home I started crying again because I missed my parents. Sheesh! I’m a boo-hoo baby!

Yesterday both Sai and Joe had the day off. We mostly just hung out. I was a bit emotional yesterday and weepy. (Dang pregnancy hormones!) We did go grocery shopping. When Joe goes with me we tend to spend more money. Last week I went grocery shopping and had planned for extra adults and only spent $85. Yesterday with Joe we spent about $130. And I don’t think we got more food. 🙂 But I’m glad Joe was home. He helped keep the boys occupied. Sai has all next week off school and I’m already wracking my brain for things to do to keep him occupied for 9 days straight!

3 Responses to “Time With My Parents”


  1. 1 nikko November 13, 2007 at 11:32 am

    Wow! I really like that baby quilt design. How wonderful that you got to spend time with your parents. I feel the same way when mine come to visit. It’s always too short and I’m always sad when they leave.

    You’ll have to share your secret to $85/week grocery shopping. ;o)
    ~~~~
    I’m cheap, that’s the secret! We’re pretty stuck to a budget so I try really hard to stick to it. It’s not always easy. And I did have a wonderful time with my parents.
    -Kathy

  2. 2 lera November 13, 2007 at 1:22 pm

    I’m happy your parents were able to visit. I remember being sad when my parents would leave, too. (Now we only live 20 mins apart.)

    And I always spend more money when Joe is with me and I go to the grocery store, Walmart, wholesale club … wherever.
    ~~~~
    I’m just glad I don’t cry any more when I get off the phone with my mom! I’ve finally outgrown that one.
    It’s amazing how things magically appear in the cart when I have extra shoppers with me. The boys always ask, and usually get told no 😦 , but Joe just throws it in.
    -Kathy

  3. 3 kat November 14, 2007 at 6:44 am

    What a beautiful quilt! I’m so impressed that you both work so quickly 🙂 Happy that you were able to spend some good time with your parents.

    Whenever my kids or Neal shops with me, I always spend more on stuff we don’t need!
    ~~~~
    My mom is super speedy and GOOD at sewing.
    Yeah, Joe throws extra stuff in. But it’s usually stuff he wants to take for lunch that he doesn’t tell me about so it doesn’t end up on my list.
    -Kathy


Leave a Reply

