Random Blurbs

Yesterday was the Primary Program. It’s finally over. Yay. From my vantage point behind the piano I thought it went well. Joe didn’t like it, he never likes the Primary Program.

The week of sleeping in has started. But, after last week when I had trouble dragging Sai out of bed at 7 a.m., he woke up on his own at 7 a.m. yesterday. WHAT THE??? This morning he slept till 8 a.m. An hour of sleeping in is a good start.

We were invited to Thanksgiving Dinner with our friends. However, it wouldn’t be just our friends and their two kids. It would also be his sister, his brother and family, and his parents. That’s a little overwhelming for us. We know them all from church but we’ve gotten used to small holidays since moving to Oregon. So I’m going to respectfully decline and cook a small Thanksgiving feast for us.

Which leads to grocery shopping. That’s my goal for today. But I still have to make a list. For the whole week. I don’t know what to make for the rest of the week. And I haven’t been feeling well so thinking of food just doesn’t agree with me.

So not feeling well. I had a really bad day on Thursday. Joe said he wouldn’t give me any more sympathy because the doctor said to call if I wasn’t feeling better. So I called. I’m on a course of 50 mg of B6 three times a day. And for really bad days, which today just might be, a half to a whole Phenergan. I do OK with a half, but a whole knocks me out. If I can make it through grocery shopping without it then it’ll be good. I don’t get it, though. I’m at 16 weeks and should be over the nausea but it seems to be getting worse. I see the doctor next week and I’m sure we’ll talk about it.

And I’m getting my hair cut tonight. I haven’t had my hair cut in 11 months. 11 months! The ends are in bad shape so I’m sure I’ll have to have at least 2 inches cut off to get rid of the damage. I hope I get something with a little more shape and style. Not that I take time to really work on my hair, I’m lazy.

I wish Jay wanted to be potty trained. He tells me when he goes potty in his diaper. And when he poops he wants his diaper changed immediately. I tried getting him to sit on the toilet. He did and he tried to potty but he’s just not quite ready. I can dream, right? I’m just not looking forward to two kids in diapers.

In an effort to save some money we downgraded our Dish. We were on the all-the-channels-you’ll-never-watch programming and now we are on the top 100 Plus. It saves us at least $20 a month. But I lost Bravo. I only got to enjoy one episode of the new season of Project Runway. So sad. That’s the only channel I think I’m going to miss.

6 Responses to “Random Blurbs”


  1. 1 Blissy November 19, 2007 at 11:53 am

    UGH, I totally understand your frustration with still being sick! I will be at 16 weeks this week and each of the last couple of weeks have looked good until the weekends hit and I feel sick again…and it rotates through the congestion, nausea, gagging, etc. (had my first bout of heartburn recently, boo!) Granted, I didn’t start feeling sick til around 10 wks. I go in this week for my checkup and I know that if I ask how much longer this will last I will get the standard “Every person/pregnancy is different”. I haven’t taken anything specific for nausea except a 1/2 Unisom. I’m just trying to get the congestion/drainage cycle in check.
    ~~~~
    Ah Blissy. It’s not fun, is it. Luckily I haven’t had the congestion/drainage problems. But this nausea is so yesterday. I wish it would end but it feels like it’s getting worse. And many people tell me “oh, it’ll be a girl!” So we’ll see. Are you going to have the ultrasound before Christmas? I’m hoping to. You’ll have to let me know. 😉
    -Kathy

  2. 2 kat November 19, 2007 at 1:19 pm

    Oh I hope you feel better soon. I remember being in my second and third trimesters and feeling so good… I wish that for you!

    I can email you a book that i bought online when I was totally desperate to potty train William. I read it, and followed it and honestly, William was potty trained in less than two days. I found it and did the same with Davis. And it worked. Let me know!
    ~~~~
    Previous pregnancies seemed to have good 2nd and 3rd trimesters. So I’m crossing my fingers.

    If you can share that book it would be awesome! How old was William when you trained him? I’m just sick of diapers and ready for him to be a big boy. Maybe I’m a pushy mom.
    -Kathy

  3. 3 lera November 19, 2007 at 1:28 pm

    Our Primary program was yesterday, too. My oldest was one of the narrators. It was one of the nicest Primary programs in a long time.

    Maybe your long morning sickness is a sign of a girl (??). I had morning sickness with all of mine for up to 20+ weeks each. That’s one thing I won’t miss!
    ~~~~
    Lots of people keep saying that it’s a girl. But I’m not going to hold my breath. Don’t want to get all disappointed. 🙂 With Jay I had bouts of throwing up through the whole thing. But I didn’t feel all queesy and yucky all the time. So it’s definitely different.
    -Kathy

  4. 4 sadira November 19, 2007 at 2:02 pm

    Oh you poor girl…nausea and the loss of Project Runway? Darn…and right before the holidays? See? These are the things that lead to holiday depression…I can’t believe Bravo doesn’t put the episodes up on the internet…the would get so many people watching! I wonder if you can buy them on iTunes? Sometimes it’s worth it if you can get the season in advance (cheaper that way) Um YEA…I adore Project Runway…notice I didn’t say anything about you having to cook on Thurs? Anyway…I hope you feel better soon…and I totally want to see the new haircut when it’s all done!
    ~~~~
    I’ll have to check out iTunes. I’ve been looking forward to Project Runway since last season ended. So I’m bummed! I just love Tim. He cracks me up. You might just have to give me the scoop.
    Make it work!
    -Kathy

  5. 5 Nanno November 19, 2007 at 5:07 pm

    Made the first batch of rolls for the holidays yesterday. Of course, none of them were quite dark enough for Mom. You make great yams and you can’t miss with mashed potatoes (except for your rice boys) so you will do great.

    It seems like you should start to feel better. I feel so much empathy for that after adjusting to new meds and having only 6 weeks of it. I liked Sai’s version of cooking turkey. Wish it were that quick, although I am not sure I would like mine with hot peppers…
    ~~~~
    I was thinking about your rolls yesterday while I was grocery shopping. I can’t decide if I want to attempt making them or not. When I do make them, they just don’t taste the same as yours. But then, I don’t think I use as much butter! 😀 I’m planning on turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, gravy, candied yams (whether Joe wants them or not I’m making them, he can eat poorly one day and be OK), pumpkin pie and maybe peach pie. It’ll be good. I’ll do some prep work tomorrow so I won’t have so much to do on Thursday.

    So are you feeling OK? Mom said that the radiation is taking its toll. I’m sorry that you have to go through this. Maybe your week in Vegas next week will be a nice little rest from it all, even though it is for work. (I keep meaning to call and check on you but I’m a slacker sister.)

    -Kathy

  6. 6 Irene November 19, 2007 at 11:04 pm

    I haven’t gotten a hair cut in over a year too, but unfortunately it’s not due to laziness. I made myself a promise that I wouldn’t cut my hair until I lost 10lbs. Well, that hasn’t happened and my hair’s the longest it’s been in years, but I’m sticking to my promise. Someday I will loose the weight, right?!
    I hope you start to feel better soon, although my third was the worst as well. It was bad until the very end, but I got my girl so it was all worth every bit of misery. 🙂
    ~~~~
    Wow, you have patience. Even if I would have made that promise to myself I wouldn’t have the patience to follow through. I get pretty fed up with my hair when it gets in my way and I shed hair all over. And I’d never lose the weight so I would be tortured on so many ends.
    Maybe it is a girl. Maybe then I’d think all this yuck would be worth it. 😉 It’ll be worth it no matter what!
    -Kathy


Leave a Reply

