Snowmen

My friend Serena reminded me that it’s been a while since I’ve posted. There really hasn’t been much to post about. I’m so boring. (But Joe has managed to post this and this so I guess he isn’t as boring as I am.)

Thanksgiving was good. Mellow. Laid back.

Wednesday Sai and I got a jump on our Christmas decorating. As soon as I picked him up after school he started asking me about putting the tree up. And I said, yeah, let’s do it! Wednesday we had enough time to set up the tree, but not decorate it. Our night just didn’t turn out as planned. So we finished decorating it last night. The boys had a lot of fun. There was the usual big cluster of ornaments that kids tend to do. Joe and I tried to spread them out more.

Tree 2007

It looks much prettier in the evening when the lights are plugged in and glowing. We moved the tree from last year’s position and put it in front of the doors to the deck. I wanted to put it there last year but Joe wanted it on another wall. This year Joe suggested putting it front of the door. I want to plug it in tonight and drive the road behind our house to see how pretty it looks.

I still need to get my nativity sets out of storage. I can see the boxes but can’t quite reach them. They go on the piano. The snowmen and women up top are a collection that my dad carved. For years he would pick a style of snowman and carve tons of them for Christmas. He gives them to each of his kids and to some close friends. Last year he stopped doing the snowmen and did a soldier, which I have displayed year-round. This year Dad did something different but my mom wouldn’t tell me what. She said I would have to wait and be surprised.

And Sai wants us to put up colored lights around the outside of the house. We’ll have to see about that. We don’t have any lights so we would have to buy them. If we don’t do that I think I can buy two inexpensive strands of light and put them in the boys’ windows which can be seen from the front.

*** *** *** *** *** ***

I had a doctor appointment today. I’m at 18 weeks. I’m still fitting into my regular clothes, thankfully, so it doesn’t seem like I’m that far along. (I got rid of all my maternity clothes after Jay because more kids were not in the plan. So I want to hold off on buying any for as long as I can!) I’m still getting sick. The doc said I should be over that “soon” because I’m almost half way. I’m thinking it’s going to stick around for the whole pregnancy. Blehck. I do OK for a few days and then, WHAM! I have a day like today. My ultrasound is scheduled for the 14th – two weeks from today. Hopefully we’ll be able to find out if the gender. I like to know. Then I can better prepare myself.

5 Responses to “”


  1. 1 sadira November 30, 2007 at 1:25 pm

    Wow!! What a talented dad you have…

    OH…totally go to the thrift to buy lights…they have a million strands this time of year, and they are so danged cheap!
    ~~~~
    Thanks! I think my dad is pretty cool.
    I never thought about going to a thrift store for lights. If I get a chance I’ll have to check it out. As of right now outside lights are a low priority so I’m not stressing about it. Thanks for the idea, though!
    -Kathy

  2. 2 nikko November 30, 2007 at 1:57 pm

    Your snowmen are so cute! My boys keep bugging me to put up decorations, but I have a hard time doing that so early. I like to leave them up into January, so it’s a bit overkill to put them up in November. I just have been telling them, “We’ll do that after the baby is born”. ;o)
    ~~~~
    That’s a good thing to tell them. But will you have the energy to decorate after the baby comes? And here’s hoping that your baby is smaller than 9 pounds!!!
    -Kathy

  3. 3 kat November 30, 2007 at 4:05 pm

    Those snowmen are adorable! The tree looks beautiful. You are much further along in decorating that I am! I am just starting to get into the holiday spirit. Dragged out the decorations tonight, we’ll get the tree + wreaths this weekend.

    I hope you feel better soon. It can’t be easy!
    Have a terrific weekend with those cute kids of yours.
    {oh, I am secretly praying that you have a little girl in there!}
    ~~~~
    I do love my snowmen/women. So did you decorate over the weekend?
    -Kathy

  4. 4 lera December 2, 2007 at 11:44 am

    What a wonderful snowman collection. I loved it before you told my your father carved them. Now I love it more!
    ~~~~
    Aw, thanks!
    -Kathy

  5. 5 Blissy December 5, 2007 at 10:04 am

    Those snowmen are so cool! Your dad has skills. (And so do you, creativity must run in your family…) I haven’t put up our Christmas stuff yet. Maybe this weekend…

    Thanks for the updates!
    ~~~~
    Thanks Serena! Have fun decorating!
    -Kathy


Leave a Reply

