On The Bright Side

Yes, we are going through a patch of hard times. But there is a bright side. Here are some good things happening.

1 – With Joe home in the mornings he has been getting up and taking Sai to school so I can sleep in. And he’s even made Sai’s lunch twice this week. One morning I woke up and looked at the clock in a panic because Sai was going to be late but Joe and Sai were already on the way to school.

2 – Jay LOVES having his dad home. They’ve played a lot.

3 – Joe went to school and surprised Sai by having lunch with him today.

4 – I got to leave Jay with Joe this morning and go to my friend Rhonda’s. We went for a walk (more like a mild hike for my out of shape self). It was good to get out and have girl time away from the kids.

5 – Joe went fishing a few days ago and caught about 30 fish on the Crooked River.

6 – I’ve done some sewing (Christmas project for Primary). And want to do more. I also feel like trying to make sugar cookies (but mine never taste as good as my mother-in-law’s).

7 – I got a package from my sisters and parents. Three maternity tops and one skirt. So cute! Even at 19 weeks, though, they look too big on. I’m not going to wish myself big just to better fill out the tops. (The package also included Christmas lights, a fleece for me, and four awesome fat quarters.)

8 – Yesterday I talked to three of my sisters (Nann, Tracy & Jenny), e-mailed with another sister (Dena), and talked to Khris my BFF from high school.

9 – I talked to my mom today. And I didn’t cry.

Joe’s been busy making calls, sending resumes, checking out jobs online, looking into unemployment… We’re trying not to get our hopes up but there is a possibility that a plumbing company based here in our little town (yay! wouldn’t spend tons on gas money) will hire him. We have a back up plan if nothing pans out, but it would be quite drastic, so we are keeping our fingers crossed.

Tonight is the church Christmas dinner. Sai is a wiseman for the post-dinner entertainment of the nativity story. Joe said that if Sai weren’t involved he would skip the dinner. BAH-HUMBUG!

It’s time to get motivated. Laundry to finish, floors to vacuum, hair to dry.

3 Responses to “On The Bright Side”


  1. 1 sadira December 8, 2007 at 8:54 am

    I’m glad that you are able to find some good things to be happy about…sometimes it helps my mood if I do that…and it’s been a little hectic around here lately!

  2. 2 kat December 11, 2007 at 3:16 pm

    So sorry you are going through this, but I’m glad you are able to see the “happy” and “positive” side of things 🙂

  3. 3 lera December 12, 2007 at 7:02 am

    I’m sorry things aren’t going well. I hope everything works out. And QUICKLY!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

