Busy Little Machine

I’ve been keeping my sewing machine busy these past few days. Whew.

Yesterday my friend Rhonda and I finished the prayer rugs for the Primary kids. We made the blocks first. I ironed the edges under. Rhonda ironed on the saying. Then we sewed the blocks onto the rugs (place mats) with a little batting.

prayer rug

The saying is:
I’m your little prayer rug
Kneel on me to pray
Keep me by your bedside
I’ll help you start your day.
And when your day has ended,
Your work and play are through
Heavenly Father is waiting,
He wants to hear from you.

After yesterday I cleaned and oiled my sewing machine thinking that it would be put away until after Christmas. But Sai came home from school with holes in the knees of his jeans. He only has four pair so if we were down a pair that would not be good. My mom told me to undo the side seam (not the side with the double seam) and to back the holey part with denim or dark fabric (I used denim). I had blue thread, but the knees were so faded that it was too dark so I used white thread. I hope they’ll last him a little while longer.

jeans1


jeans2

And then I thought, as long as I had my machine out I would finish a Christmas project I started four or five years ago. I took a class (had to buy both the pattern and the kit, not sure it was worth it) and made these nativity embroidery pieces. I decided to make them into pillows. Today I sewed the fabric on the sides and back. I just need to stuff them and close them up. Then I’m not sure what to do with them. Maybe give them to Sai’s teacher for Christmas.

nativity pillows

Speaking of Sai the Turkey… I got a call from his teacher about an hour ago. Sai had written her a note. I remember him doing this last night. I didn’t get to see what he had “written” because he sealed it up in an envelope. So Mrs. Strong calls me (and I almost panicked think he was hurt, however, when he got hit in the head and got a bloody nose they didn’t call me) and tells me that Sai gave her this note and it says that he is to ride the bus home today. Oh that boy! Nope, he doesn’t ride the bus and I don’t know who he would be riding with and where he would be going. I’m glad she called and double checked so we didn’t send him who-knows-where.

6 Responses to “Busy Little Machine”


  1. 1 kat December 12, 2007 at 6:03 pm

    I can’t believe he can write a note all by himself! What a clever little boy 🙂 Hw funny what he wrote! I guess all little kids want to ride the bus huh? I know my two can’t wait.

    Oh, nice save on the jeans 🙂
    ~~~~
    I’m not exactly sure what he wrote. He can only write a few words for sure, like “the” “we” “I”, etc. So I’m sure the note was a lot of mumbo jumbo and that he told his teacher that it was for him to ride the bus. He’s just getting too smart!

    I hope Sai will wear the jeans. He has sensitive skin so I hope the patches on the inside don’t bother him too much.

    -Kathy

  2. 2 Dena December 12, 2007 at 7:19 pm

    I happen to think the patterns was worth it since I used them when you bought them. I think they are cute and kids seem to love a nativity that they can play with. It looks like you did a real cute job.

    What a smart boy Sai is. I can’t believe as a kindergarten student he can write a note like that. He is getting too smart. I remember being jealous of all the kids that rode the bus because we never lived far enough from school to ride. When my kids rode the bus everyday I realized I was the lucky one.
    ~~~~
    I remember one of your girls making them for her in-laws… must have been Tiffany. Didn’t Tracy buy the same pattern, too?

    Sai is too smart sometimes. He was sure cranky once I picked him up. Probably because he didn’t get to ride the bus. So before we make it from the school to the truck he is throwing a fit because I won’t let him walk home. Alone. He thinks he is so independant! He is lucky to not ride the bus and one day I hope he will realize it.

    -Kathy

  3. 3 Sandy December 13, 2007 at 7:45 am

    My mom read this to me last night. I was cracking up. I called Adam and told him how freaking funny Sai is. He is one smart cookie. 🙂
    ~~~~
    I have a feeling Owen is going to be like this or worse!!! Your kid is cute and such a character and he’s not even 2. He gets it from Adam, right? 🙂
    -Kathy

  4. 4 Nanno December 13, 2007 at 7:51 am

    You did a great job on the repair. Sandy sewed her knees on my machine – it has a “mending” stitch built in. I remember that Sears had a brand of boys jeans that they guaranteed the knees would not wear out or they would replace. All the mom’s bought these. However, Karl hated them because whatever reinforcement they had hurt his knees.

    Loved Sai’s note to the teacher. You want what you can’t have. But, he is pretty smart to figure this out, just glad the teacher was on the ball.

    Everyone I gave the pillows to loved them. Keep them for the boys to play with and not your nativities…
    ~~~~
    I was thinking of Sandy’s jeans when I was fixing Sai’s pants. A mending stitch would be nice. Mom told me about the pants she would buy Bryan and Karl. I don’t know if Sears sells them any more. But I do know that if you buy kids clothes from Sears and keep the receipts you can take them back if they wear out. So I’m thinking I need to be buying his pants from Sears from now on. And our little town has a small little Sears so I’m going to have to check it out.
    -Kathy

  5. 5 sadira December 13, 2007 at 12:50 pm

    Oh good heavens! Why is it when you don’t have to ride the bus you want to, and when you do, you hate it?!?! Goodness…surely after he wrote his note the other day he knows Santa is watching to see if he’ll be a good boy!! hahahaha…

    I love the little nativity pillows and all the other projects…including the “saved” jeans!!
    ~~~~
    Sadira you are brilliant! I read this and thought “Hey, I can tell him he better be good because Santa is watching.” I hadn’t thought of that before. Is it bad to do that? NAW!!!
    I figure if he doesn’t dig the jeans then I’ll save them for summer and make them cut offs. I’ll get more use out of them one way or another.
    -Kathy

  6. 6 Jason December 13, 2007 at 12:50 pm

    Kathy,
    I got a serious kick out of the Sai story. That kid sounds very much like the Joe that I grew up with… a well intentioned trouble maker.

    Keep up the blogging and tell Joe hi for me.
    ~~~~
    It does remind me of Joe. I keep telling him that the boys or just like him! 😉
    -Kathy


Leave a Reply

