phone

Joe and I haven’t had a land line in a long time. We use our cell phones as our only phones. It’s kind of nice. But also it can be a pain.

Like, I feel like I have to explain myself when I miss a phone call. Most people who call me know that I have a cell. So in theory it should be with me at all times. But sometimes I leave it charging in one room and I’m off in another room doing something else. Or I’m vacuuming and can’t hear it. Or in the bathroom and I’m NOT answering the phone while otherwise occupied. And on weekends I leave it in the kitchen because I don’t want to answer it first thing in the morning. So I always feel this awful compulsion to explain to someone why I didn’t answer when they call. I know I do this and I just can’t stop.

We have paperless billing for our phone. I got the email notification that the bill was due. So I went online to look at it (had to create a new username and password and pin today, sheesh). We so went over our minutes! I can’t believe it! Our bill is double what it normally is and I can’t remember ever going that far over before. Not even when Joe was in the hospital. Sprint to Sprint and nights and weekends don’t count towards our minutes. I know we’ve had a lot of other calls this month with Joe calling around trying to get a job and talking with family.

So if I don’t answer and call you back after 7, don’t take offense. I’m just trying to save a little money.

3 Responses to “”


  1. 1 sadira December 17, 2007 at 12:58 pm

    Oh, there’s nothing worse than going over your minutes! They just really stick it to you when that happens…I know how you feel about explaining why you missed a call. I just recorded a message that says, “…I’m either screening calls and you’ve made the naughty list or I totally can’t hear the phone..” which is more like me. I’ll be standing around wondering where that music is coming from and lo and behold it’s my phone!!
    ~~~~
    They do stick it to you! I never know how to gauge the minutes. Joe and I have a shared plan so it depends on who makes the calls. Plus, I have a friend here who I end up talking to for at least a half hour every time she calls and that’s at least once a week. We only live a few miles apart so I should just go to her house for a visit!

    I love your message. I’ve thought about leaving a message like that but I’ve left it as the standard “voice” repeating my number. πŸ™‚
    -Kathy

  2. 2 Randi December 17, 2007 at 8:03 pm

    I hardly ever use my cell phone because it just drives me crazy to be on the phone while I am running errands. So, so far all the bills have been super-low. Too bad about your high one! It is hard to keep track of how much the phone is being used sometimes!
    ~~~~
    My cell is an extension of me! But mostly because I’m afraid I’ll lose it. πŸ™‚
    -Kathy

  3. 3 Nanno December 19, 2007 at 11:01 am

    If AT&T were up there I would ship you a phone to use!

    Package on its way to April’s. Should arrive Thursday. Let me know if you need the tracking number. Letters sent yesterday. I put each in their own envelope.

    xoxo
    ~~~~
    Thanks! I’ll let April know. She’s leaving Friday, or maybe Saturday, to go to her parents for Christmas, so this will be good timing. The boys will be excited to hear from Santa. We’ll be looking forward to the letters.
    -Kathy


Leave a Reply

