It Was Good.

We had a good Christmas.

Christmas

Joe and I didn’t put presents under the tree until after the boys were asleep on Christmas Eve. So they had no idea what to expect. When Sai woke up he came running into my room. “MOM! There are presents under the tree!” He was so excited! He couldn’t wait for Joe and me to get out there and he ran and started ripping into a present. I made him stop until we could all be there. Jay was so excited that he was shaking while he opened his first few presents. The boys were just so much fun to watch. So much fun that we didn’t take any pictures. I said to Joe that the boys were spoiled but he said that they weren’t because they’ve had a rough year too and they deserve the gifts that they got.

The boys got toys and lots of clothes. They were so happy and excited with everything they got–even the clothes. Joe and I got some gift certificates, YAY! And this cook book that we are excited about. I also got some maternity clothes (the most awesome pair of maternity jeans I’ve ever seen!) and a fab necklace (thanks!). Joe and I weren’t going to get each other anything. But thanks to my mom and sister Carrie I got him this.

Christmas quilt

When my parents came to visit my mom and I saw this fabric. It’s so Joe. We started making the quilt top but didn’t quite get it done. So Mom took it home to finish it and Carrie quilted it up.  Joe was funny because he asked me if it was a quilt he could use or if it was only for show. I have to admit that is a valid question since I have quilts that my mom made that I tell him he can’t sit on or use.

We wouldn’t have had such a wonderful Christmas without the generosity of family and friends. I want to thank you all again for all that you have done for us.

Today we woke up to snow. And so far it’s still here. My friend Rhonda called me and invited the boys and me to go sledding up at her house. I dressed the boys up in their snow clothes and boots and off we went. They had a blast! Jay even liked it this year. When we took him last year he cried so I ended up sitting in the truck with him while Sai and Joe sledded. Here is Sai and his friend Taylor after one run.

sleding-2

After we did some sledding we roasted hot dogs outside on the fire and drank hot chocolate. It was a lot of fun.

sleding-1

I hope you all had a Merry Christmas!

4 Responses to “It Was Good.”


  1. 1 sadira December 27, 2007 at 2:16 pm

    Wow! That looks like a wonderful pile of presents indeed…I’m glad everyone had a good time. I’ve heard great things about that cookbook…so many people like it. You’ll have to tell us how well it works for you…
    ~~~~
    The present pile was surprising. I saw the cookbook on Oprah and have wanted it ever since. It’s not that my kids won’t eat the good stuff, but that the recipes are good “heart healthy” recipes that the whole family will eat. We’ve got some cookbooks that are supposed to be good lowfat/lowcholesterol and the food is stuff that the kids and I won’t eat!
    -Kathy

  2. 2 lera December 27, 2007 at 6:49 pm

    Sounds like a great Christmas holiday! The quilt is very fun!
    ~~~~
    I was so excited for the quilt. He hasn’t used it yet so I’m a little bummed. But I’m sure he will, someday. 🙂
    -Kathy

  3. 3 kat January 3, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    lovely treat and wow, that’s a lot of loot! Santa really delivered 🙂
    My William is so picky, maybe I should pick up that cookbook too!
    ~~~~
    Thanks! Yup, they were pretty spoiled. I haven’t yet tried out any recipes. But I will!!!
    -K

  4. 4 kat January 3, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    oops, I meant “tree” not treat 🙂


Leave a Reply

