Nice To Meet You

Blogging has its highs and lows. One of the highs for me is meeting amazing people through blogs. Usually you get to know each other through comments and e-mail and it’s fun to count them as friends.

Yesterday I had the wonderful opportunity to meet a fellow blogger. The wonderful Irene from Mushroom Villagers happened to be around my neck of the woods and suggested that we get together to meet. We met up at the Stitchin’ Postin Sisters, Oregon. It was a fun little afternoon. We wandered around the store and each made some purchases (more about that in a bit). I got to meet her wonderful family and they got to meet my boys. We wandered around Sisters and ended with lunch. It was really nice to meet Irene. And her family surprised my boys with these cool shirts. Who knew that her whole family was so talented? (Thanks again, guys!) We hadn’t even got halfway home when Sai said “Mom, I miss Augie.” Ahhh… 🙂

Autobot shirts

While at the Stitchin’ Post I had a little bit of Christmas money left to spend. I found these soft and cuddly flannel fat quarters. I want to make something for the baby with them, either a pieced receiving blanket or a regular old blanket. I just love the patterns and the colors. I believe all of these, with the exception of the one on the far left, are from the Fleurish line by Valor Wells.

Flannel fabrics for baby

And then I got home and looked more closely at this blanket my mom made. (You can see it here and here, which is when I fell in love with it. When I found out I was pregnant I told my mom that if it’s a girl then I want this blanket. She sent it with Christmas. YAY!!)

Baby Quilt from Mom

Are you seeing any similarities? There are at least three fabrics in this blanket from the Fleurish line. Something about these patterns has really drawn me in!

4 Responses to “Nice To Meet You”


  1. 1 Irene January 3, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    Ditto! We had a great time and I loved meeting you and your gorgeous boys. Thanks for giving me a great excuse to shop at the Stitchin’ Post, but now I’m really missing my sewing machine.
    I’m glad the boys like their shirts and can’t wait to meet up again soon.

    BTW- that quilt is beautiful! I’m very hesitant to start mine.
    ~~~~
    Maybe next time you’ll bring your machine! 🙂 Thanks for suggesting that we meet. I had fun and I’m glad I got to talk to you in person. And you’ll have to share the quilt when you are done. Good luck with it!!
    -Kathy

  2. 2 sadira January 5, 2008 at 8:28 am

    Meeting fellow bloggers is wonderful! I’ve had the chance to do it myself and have been very excited with the new connections with such wonderful new friends I’ve made!!

    The girlie is kicking in isn’t it? I love the new quilt…and all the fabulous fabric!
    ~~~~
    It is fun to make the connections.
    The girlie thing is awesome! It’s been a lot of fun because there are more options for girlie stuff than for boy stuff.
    -K

  3. 3 lera January 6, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    Pretty quilt. You are going to have sooo much fun with a girl!
    ~~~~
    Yeah, I think so. Not that boys aren’t fun too. They are fun. But I think I girl will just be different.
    -K

  4. 4 Denise Wheeler January 6, 2008 at 9:38 pm

    Kathy, I must have just missed you at the Stitchin Post! I have been there everyday for the past 4 days! Always “NEEDING” something! Now I have some new fabrics to plunk in the washing machine tomorrow! Like I didn’t have enough laundry already!

    Hope you all are doing well. When are we having a baby? I know I had it on my calendar but I cannot find it. Typical me!

    Denise
    ~~~~
    I almost called/e-mailed you but I didn’t know how the time would turn out. It would have been really funny to run into you, though!
    The official due date is May 1. Since I’ll be having a c-section it will more likely be the end of April. It’s getting closer!
    Hope you are all doing well. I check up on your grandson’s blog to see how things are going for you all. He’s looking good!
    -Kathy


Leave a Reply

