Snow

Snow

We woke up to 2 to 3 inches of new snow. While the boys and I were eating breakfast before school Joe called to say that the schools in our district were closed. So I turned on the radio and the Internet to make sure. And sure enough, no school. The buses can’t make it through the canyons to pickup the students that don’t live in town. Sai was not happy. He had a play date scheduled for after school. Maybe that will still be on. I haven’t dared mention it in case he gets really sad about missing it.

Growing up in Utah we got TONS of snow. Here in Central Oregon we don’t get as much. I forget things like how to drive in the snow, how cold it can get, etc. I’m so spoiled! It really isn’t that much snow. But when roads don’t get plowed it makes driving treacherous. We might be getting 1 to 3 inches more today. Oooooo….

We spent the morning picking up and vacuuming the boys’ bedrooms. And Jay and I went outside to shovel the sidewalk and driveway. Well, I shoveled, Jay threw snow at me. There were a lot of snowmen being built around the neighborhood.

I think we are also going to work on making playdough for Sai’s class. His teacher sent a note home with a recipe and asking parents to make some and send it in. That’ll be a fun activity for us, I hope. Maybe I’ll get to pull out the sewing machine… we’ll see how the day goes.

3 Responses to “Snow”


  1. 1 sadira January 8, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    Have fun in all of that snow! We got a little bit, but it looked as though you guys were going to get hammered! I hope that we get some more…it is beautiful, and we can sure use it!!

  2. 2 Nanno January 9, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    We had about 3-4 inches on Sunday. This morning I had about 6. I am so lucky though – Al (on the West)cleaned the walks and driveway before 7 am and Lynn (on the East) cleaned them again about 9 am. I still have about 2 inches, but that is very workable. With a little luck the rest of the walks and driveway will melt tomorrow.

    Hope the boys enjoyed thier day at home. Did Sai get to go to his friends? I was in Boston once where 2-3 inches froze everything – including cab service. The owner of the restaurant took us back to our hotel.

  3. 3 Irene January 9, 2008 at 11:03 pm

    We’re missing the snow here and keep getting taunted by little flurries, but nothing is sticking. Both Augie and Chris complained to me this morning saying they didn’t want to go to school. We’ll have to brave the drive and come out for one more snow-fest soon!


Leave a Reply

