A Bit of Sewing

My friend Rhonda and I have deemed Wednesdays as our craft days. We figured if we set a date then we would actually work on things. Like Rhonda is working on a quilt for her daughter that she started five years ago when her mom passed away. She wanted motivation to get it done so her 10-year-old would stop guilting her about it.

Last week was our first craft day. I worked on the baby blanket my mom started for me when she came to visit. I machine quilted it (I feel like I cheated because my mom seemed to want me to hand quilt it on the quilt stands and frames that my dad made me but I took the easy way out and did it on my machine), and got the bias binding made and sewn on by the end of the day. It only took me a few hours to finish the binding by hand. I love the yellow and orange fabric on the back.

baby blanket

For a few weeks I’ve been thinking about making crayon rolls for the boys for church. We’ve been using crayons in a baggie for a while and they are just looking yucky and can be loud during church. So I found this tutorial to follow. The tutorial was for a 16 pack of crayons and I had 24 packs of crayons. So I made the fabric 5″ x 24 1/2″ instead of 5″ x 16 1/2″. I think they turned out pretty good. I don’t have a blanket stitch on my machine so I just used a straight stitch to top stitch. I used the leftovers from the back and binding of the quilt above to make them. I like the bold colors. (I included the old yucky bags of crayons so you can see the big improvement.)

crayon roll

Now I have to decide what to work on this Wednesday. I’ve got two days to decide! Maybe after Rhonda makes good progress on her quilt we can do some scrapbooking or stamping or something since she’s got TONS of those kinds of crafty supplies.

5 Responses to “A Bit of Sewing”


  1. 1 Irene January 14, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    Wonderful quilt! I don’t think you cheated doing it on a machine. I can’t imagine hand-quilting since I can’t sew a straight line to save my soul. Oh and I love those crayon holders. Those have been on my list for a long, long time, but I keep finding other things to do. My sister has made a ton of these and loves making them. Maybe I should just have her make me some, eh?

  2. 2 Irene January 14, 2008 at 4:58 pm

    Wonderful quilt! I don’t think you cheated doing it on a machine. I can’t imagine hand-quilting since I can’t sew a straight line to save my soul. Oh and I love those crayon holders. Those have been on my list for a long, long time, but I keep finding other things to do. My sister has made a ton of these and loves making them. Maybe I should just have her make me some, eh?
    ~~~~
    Oh thanks! It was a lot of quilt to be passing back and forth through my machine. I can’t imagine doing anything much bigger. (You still planning on doing a KING size???) The crayon rolls are fun and easy. The hardest part for me was measuring the slots. The first time I measured, before sewing, I only ended up with 23 slots instead of 24–I lost an inch somewhere!
    -Kathy

  3. 3 Nanno January 14, 2008 at 5:28 pm

    The quilt looks great. I would probably machine quilt as I do NOT have quilt stands or boards. (You are still the spoiled child…?) Use thestands for a tied quilt if you feel guilty about having them. (I machine quilted the table runner I made for her for Christmas – no guilt here!)The crayon rolls are great – like the bright colors.
    ~~~~
    That’s what I was thinking… I’ll do tied quilts on the quilt stands for sure. (Not as spoiled as I used to be. SHEESH!! 🙂 I live too far away for more spoiling.) The crayon rolls were fun. We’ll see how they work in church.
    -Kathy

  4. 4 lera January 14, 2008 at 6:52 pm

    My, my! SOMEone’s been a little crafty lately! Everything looks great!
    ~~~~
    Thanks! It’s nice to do something fun once in a while.
    -Kathy

  5. 5 sadira January 15, 2008 at 1:35 pm

    I love it…and sometimes it’s easier to machine quilt things…Don’t feel too guilty, at least you finished it right?!?!?

    I love the crayon holders as well…a wonderful idea indeed!!
    ~~~~
    Yeah! At least I finished it. 🙂 I love the crayon holders. I want to make them for everyone now. I’m thinking “would that be too much to do for Sai’s class for Valentines?” That would be like 20+ kids!!!! But it would be so fun, at least for the first few.
    -Kathy


Leave a Reply

