Oh Cramp!

Now that I’m no longer nauseous and sick I’m being plagued by horrible leg cramps. It starts with a cramp in the calf. I roll out of bed as fast as I can and try stretching it out. Which always results in horrible cramps in my shins. I can’t stretch out the shin cramps so I wake up Joe and have him rub them out. (Isn’t he a saint?) I brought this up with my doctor at my last visit. He said that taking extra calcium with vitamin D will help. So I’ve been faithfully taking that before bed. I’ve been good, until last night.

The leg cramps were so bad last night! I woke Joe up and he rubbed and rubbed and rubbed my shin. Then Jay woke up crying and saying “Feep me!”. Then Sai woke up saying “I had a bad dream.” So there were the four of us awake at 4 AM. I had tears streaking out my eyes from the pain and I was trying to say comforting things to the boys. It was AWFUL! After maybe 10 minutes my leg felt better. I took Sai to his bed, rubbed his back and talked to him for a few minutes. Then I went and laid down with Jay. And I had a hard time falling back to sleep because my leg hurt and I was worried it would cramp up again.

So what else can I do for leg cramps? I read on babycenter.com that the calcium isn’t proven to make the cramps better. It says to take warm baths and stretch your legs, etc. I got leg cramps when I was pregnant with Sai but they were always in my calf. The ones in my shins are killer!

8 Responses to “Oh Cramp!”


  1. 1 nikko January 15, 2008 at 12:16 pm

    Yikes! Mine were always in my calves, too. A shin cramp must be owie! I’ve also heard that potassium and magnesium are good for cramps. Who knows. I hope they don’t last forever, that’s not very fun!
    ~~~~
    I read about potassium and magnesium. I’ll have to check it out. Thanks!
    -Kathy

  2. 2 Irene January 15, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    Oh don’t remind me of the pain! I got them everywhere- in my back, side, shins and even my toes. The big muscles are the worst. What helped me the most was drinking water. I’m terrible at drinking and usually just manage to get my 2 cups of coffee plus one maybe two glasses of water down a day so making myself drink while pregnant was hard. It did help alot so give that a try. If not water, then anything else- I liked the carbonated mineral waters, just drink.
    Oh and I also figured out what position I needed to get into to ease the cramp so that when I got one, I knew exactly what I needed to do and did it quickly before it got too bad.
    I wish you luck and SLEEP!
    ~~~~
    I get them in my feet and toes (I have one freakish little toe that spasms every day) and they don’t bother me so much. It’s those darn shin ones! I drink a lot of water, or so I thought. Hopefully I’ll figure it out!
    -Kathy

  3. 3 kat January 15, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    you poor thing! I have no suggestions… sorry~!
    luckily I haven’t had any kind of cramps..but I hear they are really really painful. I would call you dr. again and see what else he can recommend. Wishing you a good night sleep!
    ~~~~
    I think I’ll survive these cramps. It’s more tolerable than constant heartburn. Especially since I can’t stand antacids! I’m back to the doc soon so I’ll see what he has to say.
    -Kathy

  4. 4 Dena January 15, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    Boy, oh boy! That is not fun at all. I’ve also heard that potassium is good for cramps. Whenever I get a rash of cramps I try to eat more bananas. They have a lot of potassium in them and seem to help. Here’s hoping something helps.
    ~~~~
    I bought banans yesterday. But the store only had green-ish ones and I like them with a little bit of spotting on the peels. So in a day or two they should be good to eat–unless Sai eats them all first.
    -Kathy

  5. 5 randi January 15, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    Bananas help. You could try eating one before bed. I think they have potassium in them.

    best wishes!
    ~~~~
    I’ll be trying the bananas. Thanks for the advice!
    -Kathy

  6. 6 Nanno January 16, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    I feel so bad you have the shin spasms. There is no position to stretch it out. You can try Grandma Orme’s remedy of getting your legs really cold before bed by laying with my legs up against the window/wall. I also keep a heating pad by the bed and have wrapped my leg in that to help ease the pain in the middle of the night. Will banana bread work as well as a banana?
    ~~~~
    Banana bread doesn’t last long in this house! The cold usually makes my legs hurt more. The heat seems to help more. I have a heating pad. I guess I should break it out (I usually only use it to make yeast rise). I prefer using the wheat bags but that isn’t as convenient in the middle of the night.
    -Kathy

  7. 7 lera January 17, 2008 at 12:08 pm

    I used to get cramps in my calves, too. Then something funky happened with baby #5. I would get them up the outside and top of my foot and ankle, on the bony part. There is nothing to massage there and no possible way to flex those muscles.

    I completely sympathize with you. Shin cramps have to be bad. I can just imagine.

  8. 8 babyblizz August 13, 2009 at 9:25 am

    I got a terrible calf cramp today. Seven hours later and I still can’t put all my weight on it. I’m not pregnant, but trying and I can’t imagine this horrible pain while pregnant. I went to the ER a few years ago they did a bunch of test (on that day I got cramps on both legs) and Dr’s didn’t even know what to make of it. “Just drink more liquids” is all they said.


Leave a Reply

