Look Mom!

quilt stands

Look what I did! Back in November when my parents visited my dad brought these quilt stands that he had made me. Then he bought, cut, and sanded the boards. I pulled them out today and put a baby blanket up on the stands. And I did it all by myself. (I kinda amazed myself.)

I tied the quilt with yarn. It only took me just over an hour. And now the quilt stands are down and put away. I feel like I had a really productive day! Tomorrow I’ll sew on the binding and finish up the binding. The blanket is for a friend who is having a baby boy. The baby shower is on the 2nd so I figured I might as well get it done and stop procrastinating.

The last two days have been school free. I don’t really know what to do on long weekends. Yesterday I scrapbooked. Don’t die of shock! I know, it’s been over 5 years since I last scrapped. My friend April has me back into it. I’m working on transferring the little bit I did of Sai’s 8 1/2 by 11 book into a 12 by 12 book. It’s amazing that I can fit pictures from two pages of the smaller book onto one page in the big book. But anyway… The boys “scrapped” with me. They colored and cut and pasted and made their own creations. And when they were done the cleaned up without me bugging them! When Joe got home I started cleaning up my mess and Joe thought it was the boys’ mess and tried to get them to help me. But I said no, it’s my mess and I’ll pick it up.

Today the boys and I went to the pharmacy to pick up a script for Joe. The boys have a fascination with those doors where you push the button and it magically opens. So Sai hits the button and got distracted and the door hit him in the head! It would have been really funny if he wouldn’t have been crying. I never realized how much force those doors have! He’s got a nice sized bruise on his forehead. Poor guy.

That’s about all that is going on around here. We’re surviving the cold. The high today was supposed to be something like 20. Brrr. This winter has felt colder and snowier than the last two. Oh, we got snow on Sunday and over half of our congregation didn’t show up for church. It was really kind of funny. It wasn’t that much snow in town, but I guess up the canyon it was a lot.

5 Responses to “Look Mom!”


  1. 1 kat January 22, 2008 at 3:38 pm

    what a great dad to make that table for you!
    The quilt looks beautiful. Your friend is going to love it.
    ~~~~
    Thanks! I hope she likes it. She’s having a boy so I hope it doesn’t look too girly.
    -Kathy

  2. 2 nikko January 23, 2008 at 6:04 am

    Yay! Maybe if I had one of those, I’d think of hand quilting something! Good job!
    ~~~~
    Thanks. Doing it with yarn and tieing (?sp?) is so much easier than hand quilting with thread. I’ve still got to try doing that.
    -Kathy

  3. 3 sadira January 23, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    Congrats!! That is an amazing table…I usually crawl around on the floor when I’m hand tying things…it would make it so much easier if I had a table!! I can’t wait to see the finished product…

    I keep thinking it’s been chillier here this year too, and people keep telling me I’m nuts…whatever. brrrrrr….
    ~~~~
    Crawling around on the floor would make my back and hips hurt. Ugh!
    I think it’s been colder every where this year. Brrr….
    -Kathy

  4. 4 lera January 24, 2008 at 7:31 am

    You’ve been quite productive! Wow.
    ~~~~
    I’m trying! I better get as much done as I can in the next few months!
    -Kathy

  5. 5 Nanno January 24, 2008 at 10:44 am

    That looks great. Much better than the tied quilt at guild with fat needles that hurt my fingers!

    Did the boys hide under like you used to do? Hopefully you are warming up a bit. They say it is the coldest winter in many years. I’m ready for some spring time warmth.
    ~~~~
    I need calluses (?sp?) on my fingers like Mom. My fingers were pretty sore by the time I was done. Then when I finished the binding the next day they were still pretty sore. Maybe I bought the wrong needles. (Did you recognize the fabric? You sent it to me a long while back. They were squares of some soft Moda fabric.)

    The boys had fun running under it and hiding. Plus, the location I set it up made it necessary for them to crawl under it to get around. It reminded me of being a kid so I loved it!

    It’s not warming up yet. Blah. The mornings are the worst. But now that Joe has to wait for his ride to work he’ll go out and start the truck for me while the boys and I get shoes and coats on. It makes it that much easier. I just wish Sai would let me drop him off instead of making all of us trek into the school. Oh well.
    -Kathy


Leave a Reply

